The mission of the New York State Department of Labor is to protect workers, assist the unemployed, and connect job seekers to jobs.
The Division of Immigrant Policies and Affairs
The Division helps workers from other countries use the many programs and services we offer. The staff can help you:
- Receive the wages you are owed
- Find a job or
- Get job-training aid
We also assist migrant and seasonal farm workers. For help call 212-775-3665 or 518-457-6162.
The Division of Labor Standards protects all workers, even if they are paid off the books or are not documented. We enforce the State Labor Law for:
- Minimum wage
- Hours of work
- Child labor
- Payment of wages and wage supplements
- Migrant farm labor and
- Conditions in the garment industry
The New York State minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. For food service workers, the wage rate is $5.00 per hour. For other service workers who receive tips, the rate is $5.65 per hour.
In all cases, pay for time worked (hourly wage plus tips) must equal at least the minimum wage of $7.25 per hour. Overtime pay is set at 1 1/2 times the regular rate of pay, over 40 hours per week. If your pay is less than $7.25 per hour, contact the Labor Department for help. Call 1-888-4-NYSDOL, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
The Bureau of Public Work administers the prevailing wage law. We:
- Set the rates each year and
- Enforce the law
This law says workers must earn the prevailing wage rate if they are employed:
- On public construction projects or
- At service jobs in public buildings
Safety and Health
The Department of Labor protects employers, workers and the public from dangers at work and other health hazards. These include:
- Asbestos control
- Occupational safety and health problems in the workplace
- Boiler safety
- Licenses for crane operators, blasters, asbestos workers and
- Inspection of ski areas, amusement rides and places of public assembly
New York State has programs to protect migrant farm workers. Labor Standards Investigators check the conditions of migrant farm workers and report problems to the proper agency.
New York State strictly enforces child labor laws. The law applies to all workers under age 18. It limits the hours youth may work during the school year. It also says they cannot operate unsafe machinery or work in dangerous jobs.
If you are unemployed through no fault of your own, you may qualify for weekly benefit payments while you look for work. You can apply for unemployment benefits online or by calling 1-888-209-8124.
Research & Statistics
Our Labor Market Analysts provide data, facts and projections to help job seekers and businesses.
The Department of Labor has information and free services for job seekers and workers. We offer: resume help, career guidance, job placement and referrals. At One-Stop Career Centers, there are Resource Rooms where you can:
- Use computers and faxes to job hunt
- Explore training
- Take aptitude tests and
- Link to partner agencies and services
In apprenticeship programs, beginners learn a trade or skill from master level workers. They learn on the job and in the classroom. Available apprenticeship programs in New York State currently include more than 300 occupations in the building trades, manufacturing, and service occupations. We are responsible for approving all apprenticeship programs in New York State.
Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.