$15 Minimum Wage

As part of the 2016-17 State Budget,
Governor Andrew M. Cuomo signed
legislation enacting a statewide

$15 minimum wage plan. Raising
the minimum wage to $15 will

lift the earnings of more than 2.3
million New Yorkers in all industries
across the state and result in $15.7

billion in direct economic gains.
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BEGINNING DECEMBER 31, 2016

New York State is on the pat‘h‘ :
to a $15 minimum wage! :

No one who works a full-time
job should be forced to live

in poverty. Raising the hourly
minimum wage to.$15 in

New York State‘providesvitally
important benefits to the state’s
economy; creating jobs and
ensuring opportunity for millions
of New Yorkers.




NEW MINIMUM WAGE

$15 Minimum Wage

Beginning December 31, 2016 and continuing
each year on December 31 until 2021,

New York’s Minimum Wage will increase
statewide. Changes will vary throughout

the state depending on several key factors
including the work location; the industry; and,
in New York City, the size of the employer.

Raising the minimum wage increases the
standard of living for workers, reduces
poverty, incentivizes fair and more efficient
business practices, and ensures that the most
vulnerable members of the workforce can
contribute to the economy.

Increasing the minimum wage stimulates
demand for goods and services, leading
employers to bring on new staff to keep up
with this increased demand. As a whole, all
New Yorkers benefit from a $15 minimum wage

=

Minimum Wage Increases

The first in a series of minimum wage increase
took place on December 31, 2016. The
increases are calibrated by industry and by
region in order to provide businesses ample
time to adjust.

Enforcement of Minimum Wage Laws

The Minimum Wage Act (Article 19 of the
New York State Labor Law) requires that
employees in New York State receive at least
the minimum wage per hour. This includes
domestic workers.

The New York State Department of Labor
helps collect underpayments for workers who
have not received the minimum wage.

General Minimum Wage Rate Schedule

, 12/31/16 12/31/17 | 12/31/18 | 12/31/19 12/31/20

NYC (11 or more employees) $11.00 $13.00
NYC (10 or fewer employees)  §10.50 $12.00
Long Island & Westchester $10.00  $11.00
Remainder of New York State  $9.70 $10.40

$15.00

$13.50 $15.00

$12.00 $13.00 $14.00 $15.00
$11.10 $11.80 $12.50 TBD*

* Annual increases for the rest of the state will continue until the rate reaches $15.
For information about tipped, fast food and other workers not covered by the general wage,
visit: ny.gov/minimumwage




