
New York City - Large Employers 
(11 or more employees) $11.00/hour

New York City - Small Employers 
(10 or fewer employees) $10.50/hour

Long Island and 
Westchester County $10.00/hour

Remainder of New York State $9.70/hour

FACT SHEET

Protection for Farm Workers
You should know that there are federal 
and state laws related to employment, 
which provide important protection for you.

THESE LAWS COVER:

Housing
Places to live that you receive as part of 
your job must meet certain safety and health 
standards. If your employer gives you a place 
to live and you think it is not safe or sanitary, 
call the nearest US Department of Labor 
(USDOL) Wage and Hour office and explain 
why you believe your housing is not safe. 
Their toll-free number is (866) 487-9243.  
You can also contact the NYS Department of 
Health, Bureau of Community Environmental 
Health and Food Protection at their toll-free 
number 1-800-458-1158, Ext. 27600.

Pay 
If you work on a farm, you have a right to 
receive a written work agreement stating the 
conditions of your employment in a language 
you understand. The information must include 
your rate of pay and whether you will be paid 
by the hour or by the piece. Your employer 
must follow the agreement and your pay must 
be at least the minimum wage: 

Contact the nearest office of the NYS 
Department of Labor, Division of Labor 
Standards at (888) 469-7365 if:

•	 You do not receive a written work 
agreement;

•	 You do not receive all the pay you were 
promised; or

•	 Your pay is less than minimum wage.

Transportation
If you work for a Farm Labor Contractor who takes 
you to and from work, the vehicle you ride in must 
meet federal or state safety standards and the 
contractor must have vehicle insurance.  If you 
believe the vehicle is not safe, contact the nearest 
USDOL Wage and Hour office. Their toll-free 
number is (866) 487-9243.

Working Conditions
Federal and state laws require that workers 
be able to do their jobs in settings that do 
not threaten their health or well-being. If you 
think your working conditions are unsafe or 
unsanitary, contact the nearest USDOL Wage 
and Hour office. Their toll-free number is 
(866) 487-9243.

Complaints
You have a right to complain to the NYS 
Department of Labor when: 

1)	 There is a problem with an employer about 
a job the Labor Department sent you to; or 

2)	 You feel there is something wrong 
with the service you received from the 
State Labor Department.  

If your complaint is about something else, the 
department staff will help you find the right 
agency to correct the problem. Contact the 
NYS Department of Labor at the nearest office 
listed in the blue pages of your phone book, or 
call (888) 469-7365.
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