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Employer Rights and Responsibilities
Under the New York State Public Employee Safety and Health Act

New York State’s Public Employee Occupational
Safety and Health Act of 1980 covers all public
employees at the State and local levels. The Act offers
the same OSHA safety and health standards that
apply to workers in the private sector to employees in
the public sector. This fact sheet gives you a broad
view of the features of the law.

Employer Responsibilities
Under the Act, employers include:
« The State
« Any political subdivision of the State
« Public authorities created by the State

An employer must:
« Provide a workplace free from known
hazards

» Protect the lives, safety and health of
their employees and

« Comply with all the standards listed
under the United State Occupational
Safety and Health Act

Standards

The Law requires the Commissioner of Labor
to adopt all standards listed under the United
States Occupational Safety and Health Act.

Inspections

The Commissioner of Labor has sole
authority to enforce the safety and health
standards required under the Act. An
inspection can result from a complaint, an
accident, or part of a regularly scheduled
program. We give the highest priority to
imminent danger complaint inspections.

Representatives of the employer and
the employees are invited to go with the
inspector during an inspection. This is
called a “walkaround.”

Enforcement
If we issue a Notice of Violation and Order to
Comply to an employer, it will:

» Describe the violation

« Refer to the standard in question

« List the type of violations (serious, non-
serious, willful or repeat) and

- Set a time for compliance

When the Commissioner issues an order to
comply, the employer must post it or a copy
of it:

+ In a conspicuous place

« At or near each place of violation cited

« Where it is clearly visible to affected
employees

The Commissioner will give copies of Orders
to Comply to all organizations that represent
employees.

Penalty Assessment

We impose a PER DAY penalty assessment
on an employer that fails to correct a violation
by its abatement date. Until the violations are
corrected, we will assess a penalty of up to:

« $50 per day for each non-serious
violation and

« $200 per day for each serious violation

We list the penalty assessed for each
violation in the Failure to Abate Notice.
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Informal Conference

If issues arise from an inspection and the
orders to comply, we make arrangements
for an informal conference. This is a
meeting of the Supervising Inspector of the
Public Employee Safety and Health (PESH)
Bureau to discuss issues with an employer,
employee or an authorized representative
of the employees. To ask for an informal
conference, contact the nearest PESH district
office by phone or letter, within 20 working
days from the issue date on the orders.

Judicial Enforcement

If the employer does not comply with the
order by the deadline, we can take legal
action under Article 78 of the Civil Practice
Law and Rules.

Appeals

If an employer does not agree with an order,
they or their representative may appeal to the
Industrial Board of Appeals within 60 days.
Address the appeal to:

Industrial Board of Appeals
Empire State Plaza

Agency Building 2, 20" Floor
Albany, NY 12223

If an employer or employee is dissatisfied
with a decision of the Industrial Board of
Appeals, they may begin a proceeding
according to Article 78 of the Civil Practice
Law and Rules. They must do so within 60
days after the Board’s decision.

Alternative Compliance Agreement

If the Public Employer proposes a different
way to comply, PESH may enter into an
alternative compliance agreement. PESH
will ask the Division of Safety and Health’s
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Engineering Services Unit (ESU) to help
review the employer’s proposal. The
employer will submit their alternative to ESU,
which will review it and schedule a meeting to
discuss and refine the proposal.

The Employer, affected Unions and PESH

will attend that meeting. They will write up
the results into an alternative compliance
agreement agreed to by all parties. PESH will
conduct a follow-up inspection to ensure the
employer has complied with the alternative
compliance agreement.

Injunctions

When inspectors see a situation that may present
an imminent danger of serious physical harm or
death to an employee, they must notify the em-
ployees involved and the employer, and ask for
immediate corrective action.

« If the employer agrees with the inspector
and acts to remove the imminent danger,
no injunction is needed.

« If the employer does not agree and
refuses to act on the danger, the
inspector will advise both parties that
the Commissioner of Labor will take
legal action to improve the situation. In
these cases the Commissioner must
seek an injunction within 48 hours. If
the Commissioner fails to take action,
any person affected by the situation
may do so.

Consultation

The PESH staff includes experienced safety
and health consultants. They are available,
upon request, to any employer for guidance
on safety and health matters. The consultant
will review the employer’s site and opera-
tions to see if they comply with current safety
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and health standards. Their report will offer
recommendations to the employer. Such
findings may become a public document and
be released upon request.

Petition to Modify an Abatement Date

At times the employers cannot comply with
a violation because certain needs are not
available. They may apply for a Petition to
Modify an Abatement Date, if they lack:

« Professional or technical personnel or

» Materials and equipment needed to
come into compliance

The employers must prove they are taking
all available steps to protect the employees
exposed to the hazard. They must institute a
program to reach compliance as quickly as
possible.

Variances

Employers may ask for permanent variances
from a standard listed under the Act. They
must give employees:

« Notice of each application and

« The opportunity to take partin a
hearing

The Commissioner may issue a permanent
variance after due process, including a
hearing, if evidence shows that:

- the conditions, practices, means,
methods, operations or processes

« used or proposed by the employer are
as safe and healthful as if the employer
complied with the standard.

We can modify or revoke a permanent
variance at the request of the employer,
employee or employee representative.
The Commissioner may apply to modify or
revoke a permanent variance six months
after the issue date.
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Employers may apply for a temporary
variance from a new standard if they cannot
comply by the effective date because
materials, equipment or technical personnel
are not available.

Recordkeeping

Part 801 of Title 12 of the Official Compilation
of Codes, Rules and Regulations of the State
of New York specifies the recordkeeping
requirements established by the
Commissioner of Labor under Sec. 27a of
the Labor Law. See our web site for

a copy of the rules.

Discrimination
No employer may:
« Discharge or
« Otherwise discipline or

« In any manner discriminate against any
person

because the employee has:
» Filed a complaint or

« Started any proceeding under or related
to this program

Employees who think they are being
discriminated against may file a complaint
with the Commissioner of Labor. The
Commissioner must investigate the allegation
and decide on its merit.

Funding Assistance Available

Under the terms of the Act, the Abatement
Board can help ease the cost of capital
projects to abate occupational safety

and health hazards cited by PESH. Public
Employers may apply for 75 percent
reimbursement under this program.
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However, the public employer must correct
any cited violation by the abatement date.
They may correct the violation by a variance
or by other means. State Agencies and
public authorities created by the State do
not qualify for this funding.

For more information about funding, contact:

Secretary to the Board
NYS Department of Labor
Bldg. 12, Rm. 166

State Office Campus
Albany NY 12249

(518) 457-7629

For more information, contact a district office.

Albany District
State Office Campus
Bldg. 12, Rm. 158
Albany, NY 12240
Tel: (518) 457-5508

Binghamton District

44 Hawley Street, Rm. 901 www.capreg.org
Binghamton, NY 13901

Tel: (607) 721-8211

Buffalo District
65 Court Street
Buffalo, NY 14202
Tel: (716) 847-7133

Garden City District
400 Oak Street
Garden City, NY 11550
Tel: (516) 228-3970
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New York City District
75 Varick St., 7th Floor
New York, NY 10013
Tel: (212) 775-3548

Rochester District

109 S. Union Street, Rm. 402
Rochester, NY 14607

Tel: (585) 258-4570

Syracuse District

450 South Salina Street
Syracuse, NY 13202
Tel: (315) 479-3212

Utica District

207 Genesee Street
Utica, NY 13501

Tel: (315) 793-2258

White Plains District
120 Bloomingdale Road
White Plains, NY 10605
Tel: (914) 997-9514
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