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PART 142  

MISCELLANEOUS INDUSTRIES AND OCCUPATIONS 

  

 

Subpart 142-1 Coverage 

Subpart 142-2 Provisions Applicable to All Employees Subject to This Part, Except Employees in 

Nonprofitmaking Institutions Covered by the Provisions of Subpart 142-3 

Subpart 142-3 Provisions Applicable to Employee in Nonprofitmaking Institutions Which Have Not 

Elected to be Exempt from Coverage Under a Minimum Wage Order  

 

 

SUBPART 142-1  

COVERAGE  

 Sec. 

 142-1.1 Coverage of Part. 

§ 142-1.1 Coverage of Part  

 This Part shall apply to all employees, as such term is defined in this Part, except:  

 (a) employees who are covered by minimum wage standards in any other minimum wage order promulgated 

by the commissioner; and  

 (b) employees of a nonprofitmaking institution which has elected to be exempt from coverage under a 

minimum wage order, pursuant to subdivision 3 of section 652 of the Minimum Wage Act.  

 

SUBPART 142-2  

PROVISIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL EMPLOYEES SUBJECT TO THIS PART, EXCEPT 

EMPLOYEES IN NONPROFITMAKING INSTITUTIONS COVERED BY THE PROVISIONS OF 

SUBPART 142-3  

 

 Sec.  

142-2.1 Basic minimum hourly wage rate and allowances  

142-2.2 Overtime rate  

142-2.3 Call-in pay  

142-2.4 Additional rate for split shift and spread of hours  

142-2.5 Allowances  

   REGULATIONS  

142-2.6 Employer records  

142-2.7 Statement to employee  

142-2.8 Posting  

142-2.9 Basis of wage payment  

142-2.10 Deductions and expenses  

142-2.11 Student obtaining vocational experience  

142-2.12 Learner and apprentice rates  

142-2.13 Rehabilitation programs  

   DEFINITIONS  

142-2.14 Employee  

142-2.15 Voluntary absence  

142-2.16 Regular rate  



 

142-2.17 Split shift  

142-2.18 Spread of hours  

142-2.19 Meal  

142-2.20 Lodging  

142-2.21 Tips  

142-2.22 Required uniform  

142-2.23 Student  

§ 142-2.1 Basic minimum hourly wage rate and allowances.  

 (a) The basic minimum hourly wage rate shall be, for each hour worked in:  

(1) New York City for 

(i) Large employers of eleven or more employees  

$11.00 per hour on and after December 31, 2016;  

$13.00 per hour on and after December 31, 2017;  

$15.00 per hour on and after December 31, 2018; 

(ii) Small employers of ten or fewer employees 

$10.50 per hour on and after December 31, 2016;  

$12.00 per hour on and after December 31, 2017;  

$13.50 per hour on and after December 31, 2018;  

$15.00 per hour on and after December 31, 2019; 

(2) Remainder of downstate (Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties)  

$10.00 per hour on and after December 31, 2016;  

$11.00 per hour on and after December 31, 2017;  

$12.00 per hour on and after December 31, 2018;  

$13.00 per hour on and after December 31, 2019;  

$14.00 per hour on and after December 31, 2020;  

$15.00 per hour on and after December 31, 2021, 

(3) Remainder of state (outside of New York City and Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$9.70 per hour on and after December 31, 2016; 

$10.40 per hour on and after December 31, 2017;  

$11.10 per hour on and after December 31, 2018;  

$11.80 per hour on and after December 31, 2019;  

$12.50 per hour on and after December 31, 2020. 

 

(4) If a higher wage is established by Federal law pursuant to 29 U.S.C. section206 or its successors, 

such wage shall apply. 

 (b) The minimum wage shall be paid for the time an employee is permitted to work, or is required to be 

available for work at a place prescribed by the employer, and shall include time spent in traveling to the extent 

that such traveling is part of the duties of the employee. However, a residential employee--one who lives on the 

premises of the employer--shall not be deemed to be permitted to work or required to be available for work: (1) 



 

during his or her normal sleeping hours solely because he is required to be on call during such hours; or (2) at 

any other time when he or she is free to leave the place of employment.  

§ 142-2.2 Overtime rate.  

 An employer shall pay an employee for overtime at a wage rate of one and one-half times the employee's 

regular rate in the manner and methods provided in and subject to the exemptions of sections 7 and 13 of 29 

USC 201 et seq., the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, as amended, provided, however, that the exemptions set 

forth in section 13(a)(2) and (4) shall not apply. In addition, an employer shall pay employees subject to the 

exemptions of section 13 of the Fair Labor Standards Act, as amended, except employees subject to section 

13(a)(2) and (4) of such act, overtime at a wage rate of one and one-half times the basic minimum hourly rate. 

The Fair Labor Standards Act is published in the United States Code, the official compilation of Federal 

statutes, by the Government Printing Office, Washington, DC. Copies of the Fair Labor Standards Act are 

available at the following office:  

 

New York State Department of Labor  

Counsel's Office  

State Office Building Campus,  

Building 12, Room 509  

Albany, NY 12240-0005  

The applicable overtime rate shall be paid for each workweek:  

 

 

 Non-residential 

employees 

Residential 

employees 

For working time over 40 hours 44 hours 

 

§ 142-2.3 Call-in pay.  

 An employee who by request or permission of the employer reports for work on any day shall be paid for at 

least four hours, or the number of hours in the regularly scheduled shift, whichever is less, at the basic minimum 

hourly wage.  

§ 142-2.4 Additional rate for split shift and spread of hours.  

 An employee shall receive one hour's pay at the basic minimum hourly wage rate, in addition to the 

minimum wage required in this Part for any day in which:  

 (a) the spread of hours exceeds 10 hours; or  

 (b) there is a split shift; or  

 (c) both situations occur.   

 



 

§ 142-2.5 Allowances.  

(a) Allowances for meals, lodging and utilities. (1) Meals and lodging furnished by an employer to an 

employee may be considered a part of the minimum wage, but shall be valued at not more than:  

(i) Meals, for work performed in  

(a) New York City for 

(1) Large employers of eleven or more employees 

$3.80 per meal on and after December 31, 2016; 

$4.50 per meal on and after December 31, 2017; 

$5.15 per meal on and after December 31, 2018; 

(2) Small employers of ten or fewer employees 

$3.60 per meal on and after December 31, 2016; 

$4.15 per meal on and after December 31, 2017; 

$4.65 per meal on and after December 31, 2018; 

$5.15 per meal on and after December 31, 2019; 

(b) Remainder of downstate (Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$3.45 per meal on and after December 31, 2016; 

$3.80 per meal on and after December 31, 2017; 

$4.15 per meal on and after December 31, 2018; 

$4.50 per meal on and after December 31, 2019; 

$4.80 per meal on and after December 31, 2020; 

$5.15 per meal on and after December 31, 2021; 

(c) Remainder of state (outside of New York City, Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$3.35 per meal on and after December 31, 2016; 

$3.60 per meal on and after December 31, 2017; 

$3.80 per meal on and after December 31, 2018; 

$4.05 per meal on and after December 31, 2019; 

$4.30 per meal on and after December 31, 2020. 

 

(ii) Lodging, for work performed in 

(a) New York City for 

(1) Large employers of eleven or more employees 

$4.65 per day on and after December 31, 2016; 

$5.50 per day on and after December 31, 2017; 

$6.35 per day on and after December 31, 2018; 

  



 

(2) Small employers of ten or fewer employees 

$4.45 per day on and after December 31, 2016; 

$5.05 per day on and after December 31, 2017; 

$5.70 per day on and after December 31, 2018; 

$6.35 per day on and after December 31, 2019; 

(b) Remainder of downstate (Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$4.20 per day on and after December 31, 2016; 

$4.65 per day on and after December 31, 2017; 

$5.05 per day on and after December 31, 2018; 

$5.50 per day on and after December 31, 2019; 

$5.90 per day on and after December 31, 2020; 

$6.35 per day on and after December 31, 2021; 

(c) Remainder of state (outside of New York City, Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$4.10 per day on and after December 31, 2016; 

$4.40 per day on and after December 31, 2017; 

$4.70 per day on and after December 31, 2018; 

$5.00 per day on and after December 31, 2019; 

$5.30 per day on and after December 31, 2020. 

(2) When a house or apartment and utilities are furnished by an employer to an employee, a fair and 

reasonable amount may be allowed for such facilities, which amount shall not exceed the lesser of either the 

value of prevailing rentals in the locality for comparable facilities, or the following amounts, for work 

performed in 

(i) New York City for 

(a) Large employers of eleven or more employees 

$8.80 per day on and after December 31, 2016; 

$10.40 per day on and after December 31, 2017; 

$12.00 per day on and after December 31, 2018; 

(b) Small employers of ten or fewer employees 

$8.40 per day on and after December 31, 2016; 

$9.60 per day on and after December 31, 2017; 

$10.80 per day on and after December 31, 2018; 

$12.00 per day on and after December 31, 2019; 

(ii) Remainder of downstate (Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$8.00 per day on and after December 31, 2016; 

$8.80 per day on and after December 31, 2017; 

$9.60 per day on and after December 31, 2018; 

$10.40 per day on and after December 31, 2019; 



 

$11.20 per day on and after December 31, 2020; 

$12.00 per day on and after December 31, 2021; 

(iii) Remainder of state (outside of New York City, Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$7.75 per day on and after December 31, 2016; 

$8.30 per day on and after December 31, 2017; 

$8.90 per day on and after December 31, 2018; 

$9.45 per day on and after December 31, 2019; 

$10.00 per day on and after December 31, 2020. 

(b) Allowances for tips. (1) Tips, or gratuities, may be considered a part of the minimum wage, subject to 

the following conditions:  

(i) the particular occupation in which the employee is engaged is one in which tips have customarily 

and usually constituted a part of the employee's remuneration;  

 (ii) substantial evidence is provided that the employee received in tips at least the amount of the 

allowance claimed. An example of substantial evidence is a statement signed by the employee that he 

actually received in tips the amount of the allowance claimed; and  

 (iii) the allowance claimed by the employer is recorded on a weekly basis as a separate item in the 

wage record.  

(2) Allowances for tips.  

(i) Allowances for tips shall not exceed the Low tip amount listed below for an employee whose 

weekly average of tips received is between such Low tip amount and the High tip amount listed below, 

and shall not exceed such High tip amount for an employee whose weekly average of tips received 

equals or exceeds such High tip amount, for work performed in:  

(a) New York City for 

(1) Large employers of eleven or more employees 

$1.65 Low, $2.70 High on and after December 31, 2016; 

$1.95 Low, $3.20 High on and after December 31, 2017; 

$2.25 Low, $3.65 High on and after December 31, 2018; 

(2) Small employers of ten or fewer employees 

$1.60 Low, $2.55 High on and after December 31, 2016; 

$1.80 Low, $2.95 High on and after December 31, 2017; 

$2.05 Low, $3.30 High on and after December 31, 2018; 

$2.25 Low, $3.65 High on and after December 31, 2019; 

(b) Remainder of downstate (Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$1.50 Low, $2.45 High on and after December 31, 2016; 

$1.65 Low, $2.70 High on and after December 31, 2017; 



 

$1.80 Low, $2.95 High on and after December 31, 2018; 

$1.95 Low, $3.20 High on and after December 31, 2019; 

$2.10 Low, $3.40 High on and after December 31, 2020; 

$2.25 Low, $3.65 High on and after December 31, 2021; 

(c) Remainder of state (outside of New York City, Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$1.45 Low, $2.35 High on and after December 31, 2016; 

$1.55 Low, $2.55 High on and after December 31, 2017; 

$1.65 Low, $2.70 High on and after December 31, 2018; 

$1.75 Low, $2.90 High on and after December 31, 2019; 

$1.90 Low, $3.05 High on and after December 31, 2020. 

 

(ii)  No allowance for tips or gratuities shall be permitted for an employee whose weekly average of 

tips is less than the applicable Low tip amount listed above in the preceding subparagraph (i) of 

paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) of section 142-2.5 of this Subpart. 

 (c) No allowance for the supply, maintenance or laundering of required uniforms shall be permitted as part 

of the minimum wage. Where an employee purchases a required uniform, he shall be reimbursed by the 

employer for the cost thereof not later than the time of the next payment of wages. Where an employer fails to 

launder or maintain required uniforms for any employee, he shall pay such employee in addition to the 

minimum wage prescribed herein at the weekly rate set forth below, based on the number of hours worked, 

where employees who work over 30 hours per week shall be paid the High rate, employees who work more than 

20 hours but fewer than 30 hours shall be paid the Medium rate and employees who work 20 hours or fewer 

shall be paid the Low rate for work performed in:  

(1) New York City for 

(i) Large employers of eleven or more employees 

$13.70 High, $10.80 Medium, $6.55 Low on and after December 31, 2016; 

$16.20 High, $12.80 Medium, $7.75 Low on and after December 31, 2017; 

$18.65 High, $14.75 Medium, $8.90 Low on and after December 31, 2018; 

(ii) Small employers of ten or fewer employees 

$13.05 High, $10.35 Medium, $6.25 Low on and after December 31, 2016; 

$14.95 High, $11.80 Medium, $7.15 Low on and after December 31, 2017; 

$16.80 High, $13.30 Medium, $8.05 Low on and after December 31, 2018; 

$18.65 High, $14.75 Medium, $8.90 Low on and after December 31, 2019; 

(2) Remainder of downstate (Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$12.45 High, $9.85 Medium, $5.95 Low on and after December 31, 2016; 

$13.70 High, $10.80 Medium, $6.55 Low on and after December 31, 2017; 

$14.95 High, $11.80 Medium, $7.15 Low on and after December 31, 2018; 

$16.20 High, $12.80 Medium, $7.75 Low on and after December 31, 2019; 

$17.40 High, $13.75 Medium, $8.30 Low on and after December 31, 2020; 

$18.65 High, $14.75 Medium, $8.90 Low on and after December 31, 2021; 

  



 

(3) Remainder of state (outside of New York City, Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$12.05 High, $9.55 Medium, $5.75 Low on and after December 31, 2016; 

$12.95 High, $10.25 Medium, $6.20 Low on and after December 31, 2017; 

$13.80 High, $10.90 Medium, $6.60 Low on and after December 31, 2018; 

$14.70 High, $11.60 Medium, $7.00 Low on and after December 31, 2019; 

$15.55 High, $12.30 Medium, $7.45 Low on and after December 31, 2020. 

REGULATIONS 

§ 142-2.6 Employer records.  

 (a) Every employer shall establish, maintain and preserve for not less than six years, weekly payroll records 

which shall show for each employee:  

 (1) name and address;  

 (2) social security number;  

 (3) wage rate;  

 (4) the number of hours worked daily and weekly, including the time of arrival and departure of each 

employee working a split shift or spread of hours exceeding 10;  

 (5) when a piece-rate method of payment is used, the number of units produced daily and weekly;  

 (6) the amount of gross wages;  

 (7) deductions from gross wages;  

 (8) allowances, if any, claimed as part of the minimum wage;  

 (9) net wages paid; and  

 (10) student classification.  

 (b) In addition, for each individual permitted to work as a staff counselor in a children's camp, or in an 

executive, administrative or professional capacity, an employer's records shall show:  

 (1) name and address;  

 (2) social security number;  

 (3) description of occupation; and  

 (4) for individuals working in an executive or administrative capacity, total wages, and the value of 

allowances, if any, for each payroll period.  

 (c) For each individual for whom student status is claimed, an employer's records shall contain a statement 

from the school which the student attends, indicating such student:  



 

 (1) is a student whose course of instruction is one leading to a degree, diploma or certificate; or  

 (2) is required to obtain supervised and directed vocational experience to fulfill curriculum 

requirements.  

 (d) Employers, including those who maintain their records containing the information required by this 

section at a place outside of New York State, shall make such records or sworn certified copies thereof available 

upon request of the commissioner at the place of employment.  

§ 142-2.7 Statement to employee.  

 Every employer covered by this Part shall furnish to each employee a statement with every payment of 

wages, listing hours worked, rates paid, gross wages, allowances, if any, claimed as part of the minimum wage, 

deductions and net wages.  

§ 142-2.8 Posting.  

 Every employer covered by this Part shall post in a conspicuous place in his or her establishment a notice 

issued by the Department of Labor summarizing minimum wage provisions.  

§ 142-2.9 Basis of wage payment.  

 The minimum and overtime wage provided by this Part shall be required for each week of work, regardless 

of the frequency of payment, whether the wage is on a commission, bonus, piece rate, or any other basis.  

§ 142-2.10 Deductions and expenses.  

 (a) Wages shall be subject to no deductions, except for allowances authorized in this Part, and except for 

deductions authorized or required by law, such as for social security and income tax. Some examples of 

prohibited deductions are: 

 (1) deductions for spoilage or breakage;  

 (2) deductions for cash shortages or losses;  

 (3) fines or penalties for lateness, misconduct or quitting by an employee without notice.  

  (b) The minimum wage shall not be reduced by expenses incurred by an employee in carrying out duties 

assigned by an employer.  

§ 142-2.11 Student obtaining vocational experience.  

 A student is not deemed to be working or to be permitted to work if, in order to fulfill the curriculum 

requirements of the educational institution which such student attends, such student is required to obtain 

supervised and directed vocational experience in another establishment.  

§ 142-2.12 Learner and apprentice rates.  

 No learner or apprentice shall be paid less than the minimum rate prescribed in this Part.  



 

 

§ 142-2.13 Rehabilitation programs.  

 For an individual employed as part of a rehabilitation program approved by the commissioner, the payment 

of compensation under such program shall be deemed to meet the requirements of this Part. 

 

 

DEFINITIONS  

§ 142-2.14 Employee.  

 (a) Employee means any individual employed, suffered or permitted to work by an employer, except as 

provided below.  

 (b) Employee does not include any individual employed by a Federal, State or municipal government or 

political subdivision thereof.  

 (c) Employee also does not include any individual permitted to work in, or as:  

 (1) Baby-sitter; companion.  

 (i) The term baby-sitter means an individual in service as a part-time baby-sitter in the home of the 

employer.  

 (ii) The term companion means someone who lives in the home of an employer for the purpose of 

serving as a companion to a sick, convalescing or elderly person, and whose principal duties do not 

include housekeeping.  

 (2) Booth renter. The term booth renter means someone who leases or rents space in a beauty 

establishment or shop and who operates as an owner or an independent contractor.  

 (3) Labor on a farm. Farm employees are covered under the provisions of the minimum wage order for 

farm workers, Part 190 of this Title, promulgated by the Commissioner of Labor pursuant to article 19-A of 

the New York State Labor Law.  

 (4) Executive, administrative or professional capacity. 

 (i) Executive. Work in a bona fide executive… capacity means work by an individual:  

 (a) whose primary duty consists of the management of the enterprise in which such individual is 

employed or of a customarily recognized department or subdivision thereof;  

 (b) who customarily and regularly directs the work of two or more other employees therein;  

 (c) who has the authority to hire or fire other employees or whose suggestions and 

recommendations as to the hiring or firing and as to the advancement and promotion or any other 

change of status of other employees will be given particular weight;  

 (d) who customarily and regularly exercise discretionary powers; and  



 

 (e) who is paid for his services a salary, inclusive of board, lodging, or other allowances and 

facilities, of not less than the amounts listed below when working in:  

(1) New York City for 

(i) Large employers of eleven or more employees 

$825.00 per week on and after December 31, 2016; 

$975.00 per week on and after December 31, 2017; 

$1,125.00 per week on and after December 31, 2018; 

(ii) Small employers of ten or fewer employees 

$787.50 per week on and after December 31, 2016; 

$900.00 per week on and after December 31, 2017; 

$1,012.50 per week on and after December 31, 2018; 

$1,125.00 per week on and after December 31, 2019; 

(2) Remainder of downstate (Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$750.00 per week on and after December 31, 2016; 

$825.00 per week on and after December 31, 2017; 

$900.00 per week on and after December 31, 2018; 

$975.00 per week on and after December 31, 2019; 

$1,050.00 per week on and after December 31, 2020; 

$1,125.00 per week on and after December 31, 2021; 

(3) Remainder of state (outside of New York City, Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester 

counties) 

$727.50 per week on and after December 31, 2016; 

$780.00 per week on and after December 31, 2017; 

$832.00 per week on and after December 31, 2018; 

$885.00 per week on and after December 31, 2019; 

$937.50 per week on and after December 31, 2020. 

 (ii) Administrative. Work in a bona fide… administrative… capacity means work by an individual:  

 (a) whose primary duty consists of the performance of office or nonmanual field work directly 

related to management policies or general operations of such individual's employer;  

 (b) who customarily and regularly exercises discretion and independent judgment;  

 (c) who regularly and directly assists an employer, or an employee employed in a bona fide 

executive or administrative capacity (e.g., employment as an administrative assistant); or who 

performs, under only general supervision, work along specialized or technical lines requiring special 

training, experience or knowledge; and  

 (d) who is paid for his services a salary, inclusive of board, lodging, or other allowances and 

facilities, of not less than the amounts listed below when working in:  



 

(1) New York City for 

(i) Large employers of eleven or more employees 

$825.00 per week on and after December 31, 2016; 

$975.00 per week on and after December 31, 2017; 

$1,125.00 per week on and after December 31, 2018; 

(ii) Small employers of ten or fewer employees 

$787.50 per week on and after December 31, 2016; 

$900.00 per week on and after December 31, 2017; 

$1,012.50 per week on and after December 31, 2018; 

$1,125.00 per week on and after December 31, 2019; 

(2) Remainder of downstate (Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$750.00 per week on and after December 31, 2016; 

$825.00 per week on and after December 31, 2017; 

$900.00 per week on and after December 31, 2018; 

$975.00 per week on and after December 31, 2019; 

$1,050.00 per week on and after December 31, 2020; 

$1,125.00 per week on and after December 31, 2021; 

(3) Remainder of state (outside of New York City, Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester 

counties) 

$727.50 per week on and after December 31, 2016; 

$780.00 per week on and after December 31, 2017; 

$832.00 per week on and after December 31, 2018; 

$885.00 per week on and after December 31, 2019; 

$937.50 per week on and after December 31, 2020. 

 (iii) Professional. Work in a bona fide…  professional capacity means work by an individual:  

 (a) whose primary duty consists of the performance of work: requiring knowledge of an 

advanced type in a field of science or learning customarily acquired by a prolonged course of 

specialized intellectual instruction and study, as distinguished from a general academic education 

and from an apprenticeship, and from training in the performance of routine mental, manual or 

physical processes; or original and creative in character in a recognized field of artistic endeavor (as 

opposed to work which can be produced by a person endowed with general manual or intellectual 

ability and training), and the result of which depends primarily on the invention, imagination or 

talent of the employee; and  

 (b) whose work requires the consistent exercise of discretion and judgment in its performance; or  

 (c) whose work is predominantly intellectual and varied in character (as opposed to routine 

mental, manual, mechanical or physical work) and is of such a character that the output produced or 

the result accomplished cannot be standardized in relation to a given period of time.  



 

 (5) Outside salesperson. The term outside salesperson means an individual who is customarily and 

predominantly engaged away from the premises of the employer and not at any fixed site and location for 

the purpose of:  

 (i) making sales;  

 (ii) selling and delivering articles or goods; or  

 (iii) obtaining orders or contracts for service or for the use of facilities.  

 (6) Taxicab driver. The term driver engaged in operating a taxicab means an individual employed to 

drive an automobile equipped to carry no more than seven passengers, which is used in the business of 

carrying or transporting passengers for hire on a zone or meter fare basis, and the use of which is generally 

limited to a community's local transportation needs and which is not operated over fixed routes, or between 

fixed terminals, or under contract.  

 (7) Student in or for a college or university fraternity, sorority, student association or faculty association. 

A student is not deemed to be an employee if he or she is permitted to work in or for a college or university 

fraternity, sorority, student association or faculty association, no part of the net earnings of which inures to 

the benefit of any private shareholder or individual, and which is recognized by such college or university.  

(8) Staff counselor in a children's camp. (i) A staff counselor is a person whose duties primarily relate to 

the guidance, instruction, supervision and care of campers in a children's camp, whether such work 

involves direct charge of, or responsibility for, such activities, or merely assistance to persons in charge. 

The term staff counselor includes, but is not limited to: head counselor, assistant head counselor, 

specialist counselor instructor (such as swimming counselor, arts and crafts counselor, etc.), group or 

division leader, camp mother, supervising counselor, senior counselor, counselor, general counselor, 

bunk counselor, assistant counselor, co-counselor, junior counselor, and counselor aide.  

 (ii) Children's camp means any establishment which, as a whole or part of its activities, is engaged 

in offering for children, on a resident or nonresident basis, recreational programs of supervised play or 

organized activity in such fields as sports, nature lore, and arts and crafts, whether known as camps, play 

groups, play schools, or by any other name. The term children's camp does not include an establishment 

which is open for a period exceeding 17 consecutive weeks during the year.  

§ 142-2.15 Voluntary absence.  

 Voluntary absence includes any absence from work not directed by the employer or the employer's agent 

and not designed or planned by the employer or the employee to evade minimum wage standards. Voluntary 

absence does not include any absence contemplated in the employment contract or incurred as a condition of 

continued employment; or at the direction or suggestion of the employer or his agent; or recurrent or periodic 

absence, except such absence for medical treatment under a doctor's care.  

§ 142-2.16 Regular rate.  

 The term regular rate shall mean the amount that the employee is regularly paid for each hour of work. 

When an employee is paid on a piece work basis, salary, or any basis other than hourly rate, the regular hourly 

wage rate shall be determined by dividing the total hours worked during the week into the employee's total 

earnings.  

 



 

§ 142-2.17 Split shift.  

 A split shift is a schedule of daily hours in which the working hours required or permitted are not 

consecutive. No meal period of one hour or less shall be considered an interruption of consecutive hours.  

§ 142-2.18 Spread of hours.  

 The spread of hours is the interval between the beginning and end of an employee's workday. The spread of 

hours for any day includes working time plus time off for meals plus intervals off duty.  

§ 142-2.19 Meal.  

 A meal shall provide adequate portions of a variety of wholesome, nutritious foods, and shall include at 

least one of the types of foods from all four of the following groups:  

 (a) fruits or vegetables;   

 (b) cereals, bread or potatoes;  

 (c) eggs, meat, fish or poultry;  

 (d) milk, tea or coffee; except that for breakfast, group (c) may be omitted if both cereal and bread are 

offered in group (b).  

§ 142-2.20 Lodging.  

 Lodging includes room, house or apartment, and means living accommodations which meet generally 

accepted standards for protection against fire, and all structural, sanitation and similar standards in State and 

local laws, codes, regulations and ordinances applicable to the premises.  

§ 142-2.21 Tips.  

 Tips, or gratuities, shall mean voluntary contributions received by the employee from a guest, patron, 

customer or other person for services rendered. No gratuities or tips shall be deemed received for the purpose of 

this Part if their acceptance is prohibited by the employer or prohibited by law.  

§ 142-2.22 Required uniform.  

 A required uniform shall be that clothing worn by an employee, at the request of the employer, while 

performing job-related duties or to comply with any State, city or local law, rule or regulation. It does not, 

however, include clothing that may be worn as part of an employee's ordinary wardrobe.  

§ 142-2.23 Student.  

 A student means an individual who is enrolled in and regularly attends a course of instruction at a state-

licensed educational institution of learning leading to a degree, certificate or diploma, or who is completing 

residence requirements for a degree.  
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MINIMUM WAGE AND REGULATIONS 

§ 142-3.1 Basic minimum hourly wage rate.  

(a) The basic minimum hourly wage rate shall be, for each hour worked in:  

(1) New York City for 

(i) Large employers of eleven or more employees  

$11.00 per hour on and after December 31, 2016;  

$13.00 per hour on and after December 31, 2017;  

$15.00 per hour on and after December 31, 2018; 

(ii) Small employers of ten or fewer employees 

$10.50 per hour on and after December 31, 2016;  

$12.00 per hour on and after December 31, 2017;  

$13.50 per hour on and after December 31, 2018;  

$15.00 per hour on and after December 31, 2019; 

(2) Remainder of downstate (Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties)  

$10.00 per hour on and after December 31, 2016;  



 

$11.00 per hour on and after December 31, 2017;  

$12.00 per hour on and after December 31, 2018;  

$13.00 per hour on and after December 31, 2019;  

$14.00 per hour on and after December 31, 2020;  

$15.00 per hour on and after December 31, 2021, 

(3) Remainder of state (outside of New York City and Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$9.70 per hour on and after December 31, 2016; 

$10.40 per hour on and after December 31, 2017;  

$11.10 per hour on and after December 31, 2018;  

$11.80 per hour on and after December 31, 2019;  

$12.50 per hour on and after December 31, 2020. 

 

(4) If a higher wage is established by Federal law pursuant to 29 U.S.C. section 206 or its successors. 

Such wage shall apply. 

 (b) The minimum wage shall be paid for the time an employee is permitted to work, or is required to be 

available for work at a place prescribed by the employer, and shall include time spent in traveling to the extent 

that such traveling is part of the duties of the employee. However, a residential employee--one who lives on the 

premises of the employer-- shall not be deemed to be permitted to work or required to be available for work:  

 (1) during his or her normal sleeping hours solely because such employee is required to be on call during 

such hours; or  

 (2) at any other time when he or she is free to leave the place of employment.  

§ 142-3.2 Overtime rate.  

 An employer shall pay an employee for overtime at a wage rate of one and one-half times the employee's 

regular rate in the manner and methods provided in and subject to the exemptions of sections 7 and 13 of 29 

U.S.C. 201 et seq., the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, as amended, provided, however that the exemptions 

set forth in section 13(a)(4) shall not apply. In addition, an employer shall pay employees subject to the 

exemptions of section 13 of the Fair Labor Standards Act, as amended, except employees subject to section 

13(a)(4) of such act, overtime at a wage rate of one and one-half times the basic minimum hourly rate. The Fair 

Labor Standards Act is published in the United States Code, the official compilation of Federal statutes, by the 

Government Printing Office, Washington, DC. Copies of the Fair Labor Standards Act are available at the 

following office:  

New York State Department of Labor  

Counsel's Office  

State Office Building Campus  

Building 12, Room 509  

Albany, NY 12240-0005 

The applicable overtime rate shall be paid for each workweek: 

 Non-residential 

employees 

Residential employees 

For working time over 40 hours 44 hours 



 

This provision shall not apply to residential house parents in children's homes.  

§ 142-3.3 Call-in pay.  

 An employee who by request or permission of the employer reports for work on any day shall be paid for at 

least four hours, or the number of hours in the regularly scheduled shift, whichever is less, at the basic minimum 

hourly wage.  

§ 142-3.4 Additional rate for split and spread of hours.  

 An employee shall receive one hour's pay at the basic minimum hourly wage rate, in addition to the 

minimum wage required herein for any day in which:  

 (a) the spread of hours exceeds 10 hours;  

 (b) there is a split shift; or  

 (c) both situations occur.  

§ 142-3.5 Allowances.  

 (a) Allowances for meals, lodging and utilities for all employees except employees in children's camps.  

(1) Meals and lodging furnished by an employer to an employee may be considered a part of the 

minimum wage, but shall be valued at not more than: 

 (i) Meals, for work performed in 

(a) New York City for 

(1) Large employers of eleven or more employees 

$3.80 per meal on and after December 31, 2016; 

$4.50 per meal on and after December 31, 2017; 

$5.15 per meal on and after December 31, 2018; 

(2) Small employers of ten or fewer employees 

$3.60 per meal on and after December 31, 2016; 

$4.15 per meal on and after December 31, 2017; 

$4.65 per meal on and after December 31, 2018; 

$5.15 per meal on and after December 31, 2019; 

(b) Remainder of downstate (Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$3.45 per meal on and after December 31, 2016; 

$3.80 per meal on and after December 31, 2017; 

$4.15 per meal on and after December 31, 2018; 

$4.50 per meal on and after December 31, 2019; 

$4.80 per meal on and after December 31, 2020; 



 

$5.15 per meal on and after December 31, 2021; 

(c) Remainder of state (outside of New York City, Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$3.35 per meal on and after December 31, 2016; 

$3.60 per meal on and after December 31, 2017; 

$3.80 per meal on and after December 31, 2018; 

$4.05 per meal on and after December 31, 2019; 

$4.30 per meal on and after December 31, 2020. 

   (ii) Lodging, for work performed in  

(a) New York City for 

(1) Large employers of eleven or more employees 

$6.55 per day on and after December 31, 2016; 

$7.75 per day on and after December 31, 2017; 

$8.90 per day on and after December 31, 2018; 

(2) Small employers of ten or fewer employees 

$6.25 per day on and after December 31, 2016; 

$7.15 per day on and after December 31, 2017; 

$8.05 per day on and after December 31, 2018; 

$8.90 per day on and after December 31, 2019; 

(b) Remainder of downstate (Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$5.95 per day on and after December 31, 2016; 

$6.55 per day on and after December 31, 2017; 

$7.15 per day on and after December 31, 2018; 

$7.75 per day on and after December 31, 2019; 

$8.30 per day on and after December 31, 2020; 

$8.90 per day on and after December 31, 2021; 

(c) Remainder of state (outside of New York City, Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$5.75 per day on and after December 31, 2016; 

$6.20 per day on and after December 31, 2017; 

$6.60 per day on and after December 31, 2018; 

$7.00 per day on and after December 31, 2019; 

$7.45 per day on and after December 31, 2020. 

(2) When a house or apartment and utilities are furnished by an employer to an employee, a fair and 

reasonable amount may be allowed for such facilities, which amount shall not exceed the lesser of either the 

value of prevailing rentals in the locality for comparable facilities, or the following amounts, for work 

performed in 

  



 

(i) New York City for 

(a) Large employers of eleven or more employees 

$13.70 per day on and after December 31, 2016; 

$16.20 per day on and after December 31, 2017; 

$18.65 per day on and after December 31, 2018; 

(b) Small employers of ten or fewer employees 

$13.05 per day on and after December 31, 2016; 

$14.95 per day on and after December 31, 2017; 

$16.80 per day on and after December 31, 2018; 

$18.65 per day on and after December 31, 2019; 

(ii) Remainder of downstate (Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$12.45 per day on and after December 31, 2016; 

$13.70 per day on and after December 31, 2017; 

$14.95 per day on and after December 31, 2018; 

$16.20 per day on and after December 31, 2019; 

$17.40 per day on and after December 31, 2020; 

$18.65 per day on and after December 31, 2021; 

(iii) Remainder of state (outside of New York City, Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$12.05 per day on and after December 31, 2016; 

$12.95 per day on and after December 31, 2017; 

$13.80 per day on and after December 31, 2018; 

$14.70 per day on and after December 31, 2019; 

$15.55 per day on and after December 31, 2020. 

(b) Allowances for meals and lodging for employees in children's camps. Meals and lodging furnished by an 

employer to an employee may be considered a part of the minimum wage, but shall be valued at not more than: 

 (1) Meals, for work performed in 

 

(i) New York City for 

(a) Large employers of eleven or more employees 

$3.80 per meal on and after December 31, 2016; 

$4.50 per meal on and after December 31, 2017; 

$5.15 per meal on and after December 31, 2018; 

(b) Small employers of ten or fewer employees 

$3.60 per meal on and after December 31, 2016; 

$4.15 per meal on and after December 31, 2017; 

$4.65 per meal on and after December 31, 2018; 



 

$5.15 per meal on and after December 31, 2019; 

(ii) Remainder of downstate (Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$3.45 per meal on and after December 31, 2016; 

$3.80 per meal on and after December 31, 2017; 

$4.15 per meal on and after December 31, 2018; 

$4.50 per meal on and after December 31, 2019; 

$4.80 per meal on and after December 31, 2020; 

$5.15 per meal on and after December 31, 2021; 

(iii) Remainder of state (outside of New York City, Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$3.35 per meal on and after December 31, 2016; 

$3.60 per meal on and after December 31, 2017; 

$3.80 per meal on and after December 31, 2018; 

$4.05 per meal on and after December 31, 2019; 

$4.30 per meal on and after December 31, 2020. 

 

 (2) Lodging, for work performed in 

(i) New York City for 

(a) Large employers of eleven or more employees 

$0.55 per hour on and after December 31, 2016; 

$0.65 per hour on and after December 31, 2017; 

$0.75 per hour on and after December 31, 2018; 

(b) Small employers of ten or fewer employees 

$0.55 per hour on and after December 31, 2016; 

$0.60 per hour on and after December 31, 2017; 

$0.70 per hour on and after December 31, 2018; 

$0.75 per hour on and after December 31, 2019; 

(ii) Remainder of downstate (Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$0.50 per hour on and after December 31, 2016; 

$0.55 per hour on and after December 31, 2017; 

$0.60 per hour on and after December 31, 2018; 

$0.65 per hour on and after December 31, 2019; 

$0.70 per hour on and after December 31, 2020; 

$0.75 per hour on and after December 31, 2021; 

(iii) Remainder of state (outside of New York City, Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$0.50 per hour on and after December 31, 2016; 

$0.55 per hour on and after December 31, 2018; 

$0.60 per hour on and after December 31, 2019; 



 

$0.65 per hour on and after December 31, 2020. 

 (c) Required uniforms. No allowance for supply, maintenance or laundering of required uniforms shall be 

permitted as part of the minimum wage. Where an employee purchases a required uniform, he shall be 

reimbursed by the employer for the cost thereof not later than the time of the next payment of wages. Where an 

employer fails to launder or maintain required uniforms for any employee, he shall pay such employee in 

addition to the minimum wage prescribed herein at the weekly rate set forth below, based on the number of 

hours worked, where employees who work over 30 hours per week shall be paid the High rate, employees who 

work more than 20 hours but fewer than 30 hours shall be paid the Medium rate and employees who work 20 

hours or fewer shall be paid the Low rate for work performed in: 

(1) New York City for 

(i) Large employers of eleven or more employees 

$13.70 High, $10.80 Medium, $6.55 Low on and after December 31, 2016; 

$16.20 High, $12.80 Medium, $7.75 Low on and after December 31, 2017; 

$18.65 High, $14.75 Medium, $8.90 Low on and after December 31, 2018; 

(ii) Small employers of ten or fewer employees 

$13.05 High, $10.35 Medium, $6.25 Low on and after December 31, 2016; 

$14.95 High, $11.80 Medium, $7.15 Low on and after December 31, 2017; 

$16.80 High, $13.30 Medium, $8.05 Low on and after December 31, 2018; 

$18.65 High, $14.75 Medium, $8.90 Low on and after December 31, 2019; 

(2) Remainder of downstate (Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$12.45 High, $9.85 Medium, $5.95 Low on and after December 31, 2016; 

$13.70 High, $10.80 Medium, $6.55 Low on and after December 31, 2017; 

$14.95 High, $11.80 Medium, $7.15 Low on and after December 31, 2018; 

$16.20 High, $12.80 Medium, $7.75 Low on and after December 31, 2019; 

$17.40 High, $13.75 Medium, $8.30 Low on and after December 31, 2020; 

$18.65 High, $14.75 Medium, $8.90 Low on and after December 31, 2021; 

(3) Remainder of state (outside of New York City, Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$12.05 High, $9.55 Medium, $5.75 Low on and after December 31, 2016; 

$12.95 High, $10.25 Medium, $6.20 Low on and after December 31, 2017; 

$13.80 High, $10.90 Medium, $6.60 Low on and after December 31, 2018; 

$14.70 High, $11.60 Medium, $7.00 Low on and after December 31, 2019; 

$15.55 High, $12.30 Medium, $7.45 Low on and after December 31, 2020. 

§ 142-3.6 Employer payroll records requirements for nonprofitmaking institutions.  

 (a) Every nonprofitmaking institution shall establish, maintain, and preserve for not less than six years, 

records for each employee; and these records shall contain the following data:  

 (1) name and address;  



 

 (2) social security number, if any;  

 (3) wage rate;  

 (4) a record of hours worked daily and weekly during each payroll period, including the time of arrival 

and departure of each employee working a split shift or spread of hours exceeding 10; and  

 (5) a record for each payroll period of:  

 (i) the amount of gross wages;  

 (ii) deductions, if any;  

 (iii) allowances, if any; and  

 (iv) net wages paid.  

 (b) Every such institution employing persons in an executive or administrative capacity shall establish, 

maintain and preserve for not less than six years, records which show for each such individual:  

 (1) name and address;  

 (2) social security number, if any; and  

 (3) total wages, and the value of allowances, if any, for each payroll period.  

 (c) Employers, including those who maintain their records containing the information required by this 

section at a place outside of New York State, shall make such records or sworn certified copies thereof available 

upon request of the commissioner at a place within New York State specified by the commissioner.  

§ 142-3.7 Required personnel records for nonprofitmaking institutions.  

 (a) Every nonprofitmaking institution shall establish, maintain and preserve for not less than six years, 

records with respect to each individual permitted to work:  

 (1) as an apprentice;  

 (2) as a learner;  

 (3) in an executive, administrative or professional capacity;  

 (4) if the individual is a student;  

 (5) if the work performed is not under any express contract of hire and is incidental to or in return for 

charitable aid conferred on such individual;  

 (6) if the earning capacity of such individual is impaired by age, physical or mental deficiency or injury;  

 (7) in or for a summer camp or conference in not more than 13 calendar weeks in a calendar year; or  



 

 (8) as a staff counselor in a children's camp.  

 (b) These records shall contain the following data:  

 (1) the date of commencement of work;  

 (2) a statement indicating the classification under which the employee is permitted to work;  

 (3) the nature of work performed; and  

 (i) for an apprentice, a copy of the apprentice program and agreement;  

 (ii) for a learner, a statement as to the nature and extent of the instruction and supervision;  

 (iii) for a student, a statement from the school which the student attends indicating whether or not:  

 (a) he or she is a student and his or her course of instruction is one leading to a degree, diploma 

or certificate; or  

 (b) he or she is completing residence requirements for a degree;  

 (iv) for an individual permitted to work in return for charitable aid conferred, a statement as to the 

dates, nature and extent of the charitable aid conferred;  

 (v) for an individual permitted to work whose earning capacity for such work is impaired by age, 

physical or mental deficiency or injury:  

 (a) a statement as to the age;  

 (b) a report from a doctor or other competent authority concerning the nature and extent of the 

deficiency or injury;  

 (c) a statement as to the manner in which, and extent to which age, deficiency or injury impairs 

the earning capacity for the work to which such individual is assigned.  

§ 142-3.8 Statement to employee.  

 Every employer covered by this Part shall furnish to each of his employees a statement with every payment 

of wages, listing hours worked, rates paid, gross wages, allowances, if any, claimed as part of the minimum 

wage, deductions, and net wages.  

§ 142-3.9 Posting.  

 Every employer covered by this Part shall post in a conspicuous place in his establishment, a notice issued 

by the Department of Labor summarizing minimum wage provisions.  

§ 142-3.10 Basis of wage payment.  

 The minimum wage provided by this Part shall be required for each payroll period, whether the wage is on a 

commission, bonus, piece rate, or any other basis.  



 

§ 142-3.11 Deductions and expenses.  

 (a) Wages shall be subject to no deductions, except for allowances authorized in this Part, and except for 

deductions authorized or required by law, such as for social security and income tax. Some examples of 

prohibited deductions are:  

 (1) deductions for spoilage or breakage;  

 (2) deductions for cash shortages or losses;  

 (3) fines or penalties for lateness, misconduct, or quitting by an employee without notice.  

 (b) The minimum wage shall not be reduced by expenses incurred by an employee in carrying out duties 

assigned by his employer. 

DEFINITIONS 

§ 142-3.12 Employee.  

 (a) Employee means any individual permitted to work by an employer, except as provided below.  

 (b) Employee also does not include any individual employed by a Federal, State or municipal government or 

political subdivision thereof.  

 (c) Employee also does not include any individual permitted to work in, or as:  

 (1) Labor on a farm. Farm employees are covered under the provisions of the minimum wage order for 

farm workers. Part 190 of this Title promulgated by the Commissioner of Labor pursuant to article 19-A of 

the New York State Labor Law.  

 (2) Executive, administrative or professional capacity.  

 (i) Executive. Work in a bona fide… executive capacity means work by an individual:  

 (a) whose primary duty consists of the management of the institution in which such individual is 

employed or of a customarily recognized department or subdivision thereof;  

 (b) who customarily and regularly directs the work of two or more other employees therein;  

 (c) who has the authority to hire or fire other employees or whose suggestions and 

recommendations as to the hiring or firing and as to the advancement and promotion or any other 

change of status of other employees will be given particular weight;  

 (d) who customarily and regularly exercises discretionary powers; and  

 (e) who is paid for his services a salary, inclusive of board, lodging, or other allowances and 

facilities, of not less than the amounts listed below when working in:  

  



 

(1) New York City for 

(i) Large employers of eleven or more employees 

$825.00 per week on and after December 31, 2016; 

$975.00 per week on and after December 31, 2017; 

$1,125.00 per week on and after December 31, 2018; 

(ii) Small employers of ten or fewer employees 

$787.50 per week on and after December 31, 2016; 

$900.00 per week on and after December 31, 2017; 

$1,012.50 per week on and after December 31, 2018; 

$1,125.00 per week on and after December 31, 2019; 

(2) Remainder of downstate (Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$750.00 per week on and after December 31, 2016; 

$825.00 per week on and after December 31, 2017; 

$900.00 per week on and after December 31, 2018; 

$975.00 per week on and after December 31, 2019; 

$1,050.00 per week on and after December 31, 2020; 

$1,125.00 per week on and after December 31, 2021; 

(3) Remainder of state (outside of New York City, Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester 

counties) 

$727.50 per week on and after December 31, 2016; 

$780.00 per week on and after December 31, 2017; 

$832.00 per week on and after December 31, 2018; 

$885.00 per week on and after December 31, 2019; 

$937.50 per week on and after December 31, 2020. 

 (ii) Administrative. Work in a bona fide… administrative… capacity means work by an individual:  

 (a) whose primary duty consists of the performance of office or nonmanual field work directly 

related to management policies or general operations of his or her employer;  

 (b) who customarily and regularly exercises discretion and independent judgment;  

 (c) who regularly and directly assists an employer, or an employee employed in a bona fide 

executive or administrative capacity (e.g., employment as an administrative assistant), or who 

performs, under only general supervision, work along specialized or technical lines requiring special 

training, experience or knowledge; and  

 (d) who is paid for his services a salary, inclusive of board, lodging, or other allowances and 

facilities, of not less than the amounts listed below when working in:  

  



 

(1) New York City for 

(i) Large employers of eleven or more employees 

$825.00 per week on and after December 31, 2016; 

$975.00 per week on and after December 31, 2017; 

$1,125.00 per week on and after December 31, 2018; 

(ii) Small employers of ten or fewer employees 

$787.50 per week on and after December 31, 2016; 

$900.00 per week on and after December 31, 2017; 

$1,012.50 per week on and after December 31, 2018; 

$1,125.00 per week on and after December 31, 2019; 

(2) Remainder of downstate (Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties) 

$750.00 per week on and after December 31, 2016; 

$825.00 per week on and after December 31, 2017; 

$900.00 per week on and after December 31, 2018; 

$975.00 per week on and after December 31, 2019; 

$1,050.00 per week on and after December 31, 2020; 

$1,125.00 per week on and after December 31, 2021; 

(3) Remainder of state (outside of New York City, Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester 

counties) 

$727.50 per week on and after December 31, 2016; 

$780.00 per week on and after December 31, 2017; 

$832.00 per week on and after December 31, 2018; 

$885.00 per week on and after December 31, 2019; 

$937.50 per week on and after December 31, 2020. 

 (iii) Professional. Work in a bona fide… professional capacity means work by an individual:  

 (a) whose primary duty consists of the performance of work: requiring knowledge of an 

advanced type in a field of science or learning customarily acquired by a prolonged course of 

specialized intellectual instruction and study, as distinguished from a general academic education 

and from an apprenticeship, and from training in the performance of routine mental, manual or 

physical processes; or original and creative in character in a recognized field of artistic endeavor (as 

opposed to work which can be produced by a person endowed with general manual or intellectual 

ability and training) and the result of which depends primarily on the invention, imagination or talent 

of the employee; and  

 (b) whose work requires the consistent exercise of discretion and judgment in its performance; or  

 (c) whose work is predominantly intellectual and varied in character (as opposed to routine 

mental, manual, mechanical or physical work) and is of such a character that the output produced or 

the result accomplished cannot be standardized in relation to a given period of time.  



 

 (3) Outside salesperson. The term outside salesperson means an individual who is customarily and 

predominantly engaged away from the premises of the employer and not at any fixed site and location for 

the purpose of:  

 (i) making sales;  

 (ii) selling and delivering articles or goods; or  

 (iii) obtaining orders or contracts for service or for the use of facilities.  

 (4) Taxicab driver. The term driver engaged in operating a taxicab means an individual employed to 

drive an automobile equipped to carry no more than seven passengers, which is used in the business of 

carrying or transporting passengers for hire on a zone or meter fare basis, and the use of which is generally 

limited to a community's local transportation needs and which is not operated over fixed routes, or between 

fixed terminals or under contract.  

 (5) Volunteer. The term volunteer means a person who works for a nonprofitmaking institution under no 

contract of hire, express or implied, and with no promise of compensation, other than reimbursement for 

expenses as part of the conditions of work.  

(6) Learner. (i) The term learner means a person in a nonprofitmaking institution who is participating in 

a bona fide training program for an occupation in which such person is employed, the required training 

period for which is recognized to be at least two weeks.  

 (ii) A bona fide training program is one which must involve either formal instruction or on-the-job 

training, during a period when the learner is entrusted with limited responsibility and is under 

supervision or guidance.  

 (iii) No person shall be deemed a learner at an institution in an occupation for which he or she has 

completed the required training; and in no case may a person be deemed a learner in such an occupation 

at an institution after 10 weeks of such training, except that a person may be deemed a learner for a 

longer period if the commissioner finds after investigation that for the particular occupation a minimum 

of proficiency cannot be acquired in 10 weeks.  

(7) Apprentice. (i) The term apprentice means a person in a nonprofitmaking institution whose work at 

an institution (a) is in an apprenticeable trade or occupation, and (b) is part of a bona fide training 

program leading to qualification as a journeyman in the trade or occupation.  

 (ii) No such apprentice training program shall be deemed bona fide unless it meets all of the 

following:  

 (a) it is for an occupation which is on either the Federal or New York State list of apprenticeable 

trades and occupations or is commonly recognized as such, but shall not include any of the 

following:  

 (1) occupations in the distributive field; 

 (2) managerial occupations;  

 (3) clerical occupations;  



 

 (4) professional or semiprofessional occupations (occupations for which entrance 

requirements customarily include education of college level);  

 (b) it requires at least two years (4,000 hours) of work experience;  

 (c) it provides for a schedule of work processes or operations in which experience is to be given 

the apprentice on the job;  

 (d) it involves the development of skill sufficiently broad to be applicable in like occupations 

rather than to be limited to the requirements of one institution; and  

 (e) the employer keeps and makes available written evidence of the apprenticeship agreement or 

a detailed schedule of work processes and wages.  

 (8) Member of a religious order. The term religious order means a group of persons who are joined 

together under the authority of a religious leader, and are dedicated to the performance of religious works.  

 (9) Sexton. The term sexton means an individual who works as a caretaker at a place where religious 

services are held, or whose duties at such place are solely of a religious nature, or whose duties are partly 

religious and partly as a caretaker.  

 (10) Person who works in return for charitable aid. The term work… incidental to or in return for 

charitable aid conferred means any work or duties performed by a person who is not under any express 

contract of hire, in or for a nonprofitmaking religious or charitable institution, as a means of discharging an 

obligation to such an institution for charitable aid given to the worker.  

 (11) Student in or for a nonprofitmaking institution. The term student means an individual who is 

enrolled in and regularly attends during the daytime a course of instruction leading to a degree, certificate or 

diploma, offered at an institution of learning, or who is completing residence requirements for a degree. A 

person is deemed to be a student during the time that school is not in session if such person was a student 

during the preceding semester.  

 (12) Person whose earning capacity is impaired. The phrase earning capacity… is impaired by… age, or 

by physical or mental deficiency or injury, applies to a person in a nonprofitmaking institution whose 

earning capacity for the work to which he or she is assigned to perform is impaired by age, or by physical or 

mental deficiency or injury; but a person's earning capacity may not be deemed impaired by age until such 

person' s 65th birthday.  

 (13) Staff counselor in a children's camp.  (i) A staff counselor is a person whose duties primarily 

relate to the guidance, instruction, supervision and care of campers in a children's camp, whether such 

work involves direct charge of, or responsibility for, such activities, or merely assistance to persons in 

charge. The term staff counselor includes but is not limited to: head counselor, assistant head counselor, 

specialist counselor or instructor (such as swimming counselor, arts and crafts counselor, etc.), group or 

division leader, camp mother, supervising counselor, senior counselor, counselor, general counselor, 

bunk counselor, assistant counselor, co-counselor, junior counselor, and counselor aide.  

 (ii) Children's camp means any establishment which, as a whole or part of its activities, is engaged 

in offering for children, on a resident or nonresident basis, recreational programs or supervised play or 

organized activity in such fields as sports, nature lore, and arts and crafts, whether known as camps, play 

groups, play school, or by any other name. The term children's camp does not include an establishment 

which is open for a period exceeding 17 consecutive weeks during the year.  



 

 (14) In or for a summer camp or conference for not more than three months annually.  

 (i) A person who works in not more than 13 calendar weeks in a calendar year in or for a summer 

camp or conference is deemed to have worked for not more than three months annually. A person who 

works in more than 13 calendar weeks in a calendar year is deemed to be an employee for the entire 

period of employment.  

 (ii) A summer camp or conference means a camp or conference which is open any part of the period 

from June 21st to September 21st, and which is operated by a nonprofitmaking institution.  

§ 142-3.13 Nonprofitmaking institution.  

 A nonprofitmaking institution means any corporation, unincorporated association, community chest, fund or 

foundation organized and operated exclusively for religious, charitable or educational purposes, no part of the 

net earnings of which inures to the benefit of any private shareholder or individual.  

§ 142-3.14 Regular rate.  

 The term regular rate shall mean the amount that the employee is regularly paid for each hour of work. 

When an employee is paid on a piece-rate, salary or any basis other than hourly rate, the regular hourly wage 

rate shall be determined by dividing the total hours worked during the week into the employee's total earnings.  

§ 142-3.15 Split shift.  

 A split shift is a schedule of daily hours in which the working hours required or permitted are not 

consecutive. No meal period of one hour or less shall be considered an interruption of consecutive hours.  

§ 142-3.16 Spread of hours.  

 The spread of hours is the interval between the beginning and end of an employee's workday. The spread of 

hours for any day includes working time plus time off for meals plus intervals of duty.  

§ 142-3.17 Meal.  

 A meal shall provide adequate portions of a variety of wholesome, nutritious foods, and shall include at 

least one of the types of food from all four of the following groups:  

 (a) fruits or vegetables;  

 (b) cereals, bread or potatoes;  

 (c) eggs, meat, fish or poultry; and  

 (d) milk, tea or coffee; except that for breakfast, group (c) may be omitted if both cereal and bread are 

offered in group (b).  

  



 

§ 142-3.18 Lodging.  

 Lodging includes room, house or apartment, and means living accommodations which meet generally 

accepted standards for protection against fire, and all structural, sanitation and similar standards in State and 

local laws, codes, regulations and ordinances applicable to the premises.  

§ 142-3.19 Required uniform.  

 A required uniform shall be that clothing worn by an employee, at the request of an employer, while 

performing job-related duties or to comply with any State, city or local law, rule or regulation. It does not, 

however, include clothing that may be worn as part of employee's ordinary wardrobe. 


