
 
 
 
 
 

Division of Labor Standards 
 

 

GUIDELINES 

CIVIL PENALTIES EFFECTIVE SEPTEMBER 1, 1991 

FOR CHILD LABOR VIOLATIONS 
 

Section 141 of the New York State Labor Law, effective September 1, 1991, provides for the imposition of civil 
penalties of not more than $1,000 for a first violation, $2,000 for a second violation and $3,000 for a third or 
subsequent violation of Article 4 governing the employment of minors under 18 years of age by an employer. 

 
The following guidelines establish a range of monetary assessments for various types of violations. They are general in nature and 
may not cover every specific situation. In determining the appropriate monetary amount within the range shown, consideration will 
be given to the criteria enumerated in the statute, namely “the size of the employer’s business, the good faith of the employer, the 
gravity of the violation, the history of previous violations and the failure to comply with record keeping or other requirements.” For 
example, the penalty for a larger firm (25 or more employees) would tend to be in the higher range since such firms should have 
knowledge of the laws. The gravity of the violation would depend on such factors as the age of the minor, whether required to be in 
school, and the degree of exposure to the hazards of prohibited occupations. Failure to keep records of the hours of work of the 
minors would also have a bearing on the size of the penalty. 

 

Penalties 

 First Violation $0 - $1,000 

 Second Violation $500 - $2,000 

 Third and Subsequent Violation $2,000 - $3,000 

 

PENALTIES MAY BE ASSESSED FOR VIOLATIONS PERTAINING TO: 

 
1. Employment of minors under fourteen years of age.  (Sec. 130) 

 

2. Employment of minors fourteen or fifteen years of age.  (Sec. 131) 
 

3. Employment of minors sixteen or seventeen years of age.  (Sec. 132) 
 

4. Prohibited employment of minors.  (Sec. 133) 
 

5. Placement of minors by employment agencies.  (Sec. 134) 
 

6. Duties of Employers.  (Sec. 135) 
 

7. Employment of persons apparently under eighteen years of age.  (Sec. 138) 
 

8. Employment of child performers, child models, street-trades and newspaper carriers. (ACAL 35.01, 35.05; Ed.L. 3227, 
3228) 

 

9. Hours of work for minors fourteen and fifteen years of age.  (Sec. 142) 
 

10.  Hours of work for minors sixteen and seventeen years of age.  (Sec. 143) 
 

11.  Posting of hours.  (Sec. 144) 
 

CONFERENCE PRIOR TO ASSESSMENT OF PENALTY After a violation is reported, a conference may be scheduled 

affording the employer the opportunity to be heard on the reported violation. A determination regarding the 

assessment of a civil penalty will be made following the conference. 
 

RIGHT TO APPEAL If the employer is aggrieved by the determination following such conference, the employer has 

the right to appeal such determination within 60 days of the date of issuance to the Industrial Board of Appeals, 

Empire State Plaza, Bldg. 2, 
20th Floor, New York 12223 as prescribed by its Rules of Procedure. 
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FOR INFORMATION REGARDING NEW YORK STATE CHILD LABOR LAWS, PLEASE CALL OR WRITE THE 
NEAREST OFFICE OF THE DIVISION OF LABOR STANDARDS LISTED BELOW: 
 

Albany District 
State Office Campus  
Bldg. 12 Room 185A  
Albany, NY 12240 
(518) 457-2730 

Binghamton  
Sub-District  
44 Hawley Street 
Binghamton, NY 13901 
(607) 721-8014 

New York City District  
75 Varick Street 
7th Floor  
New York, NY 10013  
(212) 775-3880 

Garden City District 
  400 Oak Street 
  Suite 101 
Garden City, NY 11530  
(516) 794-8195 

  
 
Buffalo District 
65 Court Street 
Room 202 
Buffalo, NY 14202 
(716) 847-7141 

 
Rochester 
Sub-District 
276 Waring Road  
Room 104 
Rochester, NY 14609 
(585) 258-4550 

 
Syracuse District 
333 East Washington Street 
Room 121 
Syracuse, NY  13202 
(315) 428-4057 

 
White Plains District  
120 Bloomingdale Road 
White Plains, NY 10605  
(914) 997-9521 

 

 
 

DOL WEBSITE HOMEPAGE 

   http://www.labor.ny.gov 
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