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Employment Agency Information for New Applicants 

Article 11 of the General Business Law of the State of New York requires that "no person shall open, keep, maintain, own, operate or 
carry on any employment agency unless such person shall have first procured a license". 

Enclosed is the application for requesting an Employment Agency License.  Make sure that all items are answered in full on both the 
front and back of the form. 

Note:     The application is to be returned with all the items noted on the reverse of the application.  Failure to submit all of these 
documents could result in the application being returned to you. As part of the application process, all applicants must 
have their fingerprints scanned at an L1 Enrollment Service location in New York State. (See “fingerprinting” sheet for 
instructions, including fees.) You are required to submit fingerprints for each principal of the agency (and the agency 
placement manager, if not a principal of the agency).   

All licenses are issued for two years and expire on May 1 of each even-numbered year.  The amount of the license fee to be 
submitted is determined by the number of anticipated placement employees and is prorated depending upon the length of time the 
license will be in force, i.e.: 
 

Number of placement 
employees is 

License to run 1 yr. or more 
up to 2 yrs., fee is 

License to run 6 months or more 
but less than 1 yr., fee is 

License to run for less than 6 
months, fee is 

4 or less 

 5 or more 

$500.00 

$700.00 

$250.00 

$300.00 

$125.00 

$175.00 

Your application must be accompanied with a certified check or money order for the license, made payable to the "Commissioner of 
Labor."  Valid forms of payment are:  bank money orders, postal money orders, Western Union money orders, and Travelers Express 
money orders.  

 Note:  The Department of Labor will not accept any personal checks. 

Also required is a surety bond in the penal sum of five thousand dollars ($5,000.00) made payable to “the People of the State of New 
York.”  If the agency will engage in the recruitment of domestic or household employees from outside the continental United States, or 
conduct a modeling agency, the bond shall be in the penal sum of ten thousand dollars ($10,000.00).  Please refer to Sections 177 and 
178 of the Employment Agency Law. 

If your application is withdrawn or the license is denied, one-half of the license fee is refundable. 
 
Before a license can be issued, all applicants for an Employment Agency License and Agency Manager's Permit must complete the 
Child Support Obligations form enclosed.  Section 3-503 of the General Obligations Law requires that applicants for a license or 
permit necessary to practice any occupation, employment, trade, vocation, business, or profession file a statement concerning his or 
her obligation to pay child support.  Corporations are not required to file this statement.  If the applicant is a partnership, any one of 
the partners may file this statement.  In addition, the Statement of Character form must be completed. 

 Note:  No Employment Agency License or Agency Manager's Permit will be issued until a completed Child Support Obligation 
form is received from the individual owner or partner. 

Also, before a license can be issued, the agency premises must be inspected to assure that it meets the requirements of the law.  Please 
see Section 174.1 and 174.4 of the Employment Agency Law. 

A copy of the Employment Agency Law is enclosed for your guidance.  You should familiarize yourself with the provisions of the 
law. 

Please return your completed application and all required forms to the address at the top of this form. 
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