
EMPLOYMENT CERTIFICATES
All minors (under age 18) must have employment 
certificates. They must give their certificates to 
businesses that hire them when the job begins. When 
a student is leaving a job, the employer must return 
the certificate. Students can get information and an 
application for an employment certificate at their school. 
There are different requirements for working on a farm.

THE MOST COMMON CERTIFICATES
•	 ������A student non-factory employment certificate  

(AT-18, blue) is issued to students aged 14 and 15 

•	 �A student general employment certificate (AT-19, 
green) is issued to students aged 16 and 17  

•	 A full-time employment certificate (AT-20, salmon) 
is issued to minors aged 16 and 17 who do not 
attend school or who are leaving school for full-
time employment

STUDENTS AGED 14 AND 15
When school is in session, students aged 14 and 15 
may work three hours on school days, eight hours 
on other days, up to 18 hours a week, and six days 
a week. They may work between 7am and 7pm.

When school is not in session, they may work eight 
hours a day, up to 40 hours a week, and six days a 
week. From June 21 to Labor Day, they may work 
between 7am and 9pm.
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FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
Division of Labor Standards
New York State Department of Labor
State Office Campus - Building 12 
Albany, NY 12240
E-mail:  lsask@labor.ny.gov

P881 (3/19)
The New York State Department of Labor is an Equal Opportunity Employer/Program. 
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.

STUDENTS AGED 16 AND 17
�When school is in session, students aged 16 and 17 
may work four hours a day on Mondays, Tuesdays, 
Wednesdays and Thursdays, and eight hours on 
Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays and holidays. 

They may work up to 28 hours a week, six days a 
week, between 6am and 10pm. Work between  
10pm and midnight when school is in session may be 
allowed with written parental consent and proof of 
satisfactory school performance.

When school is not in session, they may work eight 
hours a day, up to 48 hours a week, and six days a 
week. They may work between 6am and midnight.

MINORS, AGED 16 AND 17, NOT IN SCHOOL
Minors, aged 16 and 17, who do not attend school may 
work up to eight hours a day, 48 hours a week, six days 
a week. They may work between 6am and midnight.

PROHIBITED OCCUPATIONS
New York State law bars minors from working in  
some jobs for reasons of safety and health. Examples  
of prohibited occupations include construction work,  
the operation of power-driven tools, the manufacture 
of brick and tile, logging, mining and the manufacture 
of explosives.

WORKPLACE RIGHTS
Everyone must be paid at least the hourly minimum 
wage required by state and federal law. A meal period 
of at least 30 minutes is required if an employee 
works more than six hours. An employer must post 
a schedule of hours and meal periods for minors.  
Every employee must receive a statement with each 
payment of wages showing hours worked, wages 
paid and all deductions.


