[X] close video player
This video requires Adobe Flash Player
New York State Department of Labor

Electricians Recruit Apprentices

play video alt txt

Rochester, NY (January 29, 2019) -

The Rochester Electrical Joint Apprenticeship and Training Committee, Local Union #86, will conduct a recruitment from April 03, 2019 through March 18, 2020 for 10 electrician apprentices, the New York State Department of Labor announced today.

Applications may be obtained at Local Union #86, 470 W. Metro Park, Suite B, Rochester, NY, from 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and from 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. on the first and third Wednesday of each month, excluding legal holidays, during the recruitment period. Applications must be completed in person.

All applications must be received no later than March 18, 2020.

Applicants must pay a $10.00 testing fee at the time of application. Please note: You may request that this fee be waived. Fee waivers will be approved upon showing verifiable proof of financial need.

The Committee requires that applicants:

  • Must be at least 18 years old.
  • Must have a high school diploma or a high school equivalency diploma (such as TASC or GED), including one year of algebra with a passing grade.
  • Must be able to furnish own tools. The estimated cost of tools is $200 to start, and $1,000 by the end of the program. 
  • Must be physically able to perform the work required as determined by a physical exam and drug test, at the expense of the sponsor, after selection and prior to indenture.
  • Must be able to climb and work from ladders and scaffolds of various lengths and heights.
  • Must be able to crawl and work in confined spaces, such as attics, manholes, and crawl spaces.
  • Must live within the geographic jurisdiction of Local Union #86, which includes:   
    • Genesee County: townships of Batavia*, Bergen, Bethany, Byron, Le Roy, Elba*, Pavilion, and Stafford.
    • Livingston County: all of Livingston County. (*That portion east of the line following the Little Tonawanda Creek, north to the Tonawanda Creek; north on Tonawanda Creek to the city limits of Batavia; northwest and northeast around the city limits, but including the City of Batavia (in effect prior to February 1, 1970), to State Highway 98; north on 98 to Orleans County.)
    • Monroe County: all of Monroe County.
    • Ontario County: townships of Bristol, Canadice, Naples, West Bloomfield, Richmond, South Bristol, East Bloomfield, and Victor.
    • Orleans County: townships of Clarendon, Kendall, and Murray.
    • Wayne County: townships of Macedon, Marion, Ontario, Palmyra, Sodus, Walworth, and Williamson.
    • Wyoming County: townships of Castile, Covington, Gainesville, Genesee Falls, Middlebury, Perry, Pike, and Warsaw.
  • Must have reliable transportation to and from various job sites and related instruction classes.
  • Must be willing and able to attend all related classroom training as required to complete the apprenticeship.
  • Must be able to read and understand English.
  • Must be able to hear and understand verbal instructions and warnings given in English.
  • Must take and obtain the score of 4 or higher on NJATC Electrical Aptitude Test.

For further information, applicants should contact their nearest New York State Department of Labor office or Local Union #86 at (585) 235-5050.

Apprentice programs registered with the Department of Labor must meet standards established by the Commissioner. Under state law, sponsors of programs cannot discriminate against applicants because of race, creed, color, national origin, age, sex, disability, or marital status. Women and minorities are encouraged to submit applications for apprenticeship programs. Sponsors of programs are required to adopt affirmative action plans for the recruitment of women and minorities.


Get Adobe Reader