[X] close video player
This video requires Adobe Flash Player
New York State Department of Labor

Ironworkers Recruit Apprentices

play video alt txt

Albany, NY (June 04, 2019) -

The Joint Apprenticeship and Training Committee for Ironworkers, Local Union #12, will conduct a recruitment from July 5, 2019 through June 5, 2020 for five Ironworker (Outside) apprentices, the New York State Department of Labor announced today.

Please note that the five openings listed for apprentices represent the total number for four recruitment regions – the Capital District, Mohawk Valley, North Country, and Southern Tier regions.

Applications can be obtained and submitted, in person only, at Local Union #12, 17 Hemlock Street, Latham, NY, from 8:30 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. on the first Friday of each month, excluding legal holidays, during the recruitment period. Applications are accepted only once per month, on the first Friday between 8:30 am to 10:00 am.

The Committee requires that applicants:

  • Must be at least 18 years old.
  • Must have a high school diploma or a high school equivalency diploma (such as TASC or GED).
  • Must attest in writing that they are physically capable of performing the work of an ironworker, which may include:
    • Wearing a safety belt weighing 25-50 pounds for a full day.
    • Carrying steel rods weighing between 50 and 150 pounds.
    • Climbing for purposes of erecting steel and reinforcing iron.
    • Walking, climbing, bending, reaching, lifting, and carrying for a full day.
  • Must have reliable transportation to and from various job sites and related instruction classes.
  • Must pass a drug screening, at the expense of the sponsor, after acceptance into the program.
  • Must reside within the jurisdiction of Local Union #12, which includes:
    • The counties of Albany, Clinton, Columbia, Delaware, Essex, Greene, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Warren, and Washington
    • In Fulton County – The townships of Broadalbin, Mayfield, Northampton, Bleecker, and Johnstown
    • In Hamilton County – The townships of Hope, Benson, and Wells
    • In Montgomery County – The townships of Florida, Amsterdam, Charleston, Glen, Mohawk, and Root
    • In Otsego County – The townships of Unadilla, Butternuts, Morris, Otego, Oneonta, Laurens, Milford, Maryland, and Worcester
    • In Berkshire County (Massachusetts) – The townships of Florida, New Ashford, Pittsfield, West Stockbridge, Clarksburg, Cheshire, Lenox, Great Barrington, North Adams, Lanesboro, Richmond, Alford, Williamstown, Hancock, Lee, Egremont, Adams, Dalton, Stockbridge, and Mount Washington
    • Bennington County in Vermont

For further information, applicants should contact Ironworkers Local #12 at (518) 435-0740. Additional job search assistance can be obtained at your local New York State Department of Labor Career Center (see: https://www.labor.ny.gov/career-center-locator/location-list-all.php).

Apprentice programs registered with the Department of Labor must meet standards established by the Commissioner. Under state law, sponsors of programs cannot discriminate against applicants because of race, creed, color, national origin, age, sex, disability, or marital status. Women and minorities are encouraged to submit applications for apprenticeship programs. Sponsors of programs are required to adopt affirmative action plans for the recruitment of women and minorities.


Get Adobe Reader