[X] close video player
This video requires Adobe Flash Player
New York State Department of Labor

Ironworkers Recruit Apprentices

play video alt txt

Rochester, NY (August 01, 2017) -

The Joint Apprenticeship and Training Committee for Ironworkers, Local Union #33, will conduct a recruitment from September 5, 2017 through August 7, 2018 for eight to ten ironworker (outside) apprentices, the New York State Department of Labor announced today.

Please note that the eight to ten openings listed for ironworker apprentices represent the total number for three recruitment regions - the Finger Lakes, Southern Tier, and Western regions. 

Applications can be obtained at the Ironworkers Local Union #33, 154 Humboldt Street, Rochester, NY, from 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. on the first Tuesday of each month, excluding legal holidays, during the recruitment period. Applications must be completed on the premises.

The Committee requires that applicants:

  • Must be at least 18 years old.
  • Must have a high school diploma or a high school equivalency diploma (such as TASC or GED). Proof will be required after selection and prior to indenture.
  • Must sign an affidavit stating that they are physically able to do the work of an ironworker, which may include:
    • Working at heights, on or off of ladders, with materials and tools.
    • Walking, climbing, bending, reaching, lifting, and carrying.
    • Working a full day of strenuous physical labor.
    • Working on building erection jobs, on bridges, and on open wall reinforcing jobs.
    • Working on ornamental work, on sheeting jobs, on rigging jobs, and on welding structural jobs.
    • Constantly bending and reaching.
    • Connecting, bolting up, rigging, placing, and tying reinforcing bars.
    • Placing metal sheeting and decking on buildings.
    • Installing metal window sashes or stair railings.
    • Setting up welding equipment.
    • Lifting and carrying heavy steel no matter what phase of the trade they are working in. There is no light work in the ironworker trade.    
  • Must have a valid NYS driver’s license. Apprentices will be required to drive company vehicles on public streets.
  • Must provide a copy of NYS driver’s license and Social Security card if accepted into the program.
  • Must have reliable transportation to and from various job sites and related instruction classes. The union’s jurisdiction includes the counties of Allegheny, Chemung, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Orleans, Schuyler, Steuben, Wayne, Wyoming, and Yates.
  • Must pass a drug test, at the expense of the sponsor, after selection and prior to indenture.
  • Must provide military transfer card or discharge form DD-214, if applicable, after selection and prior to indenture.
  • Must arrive to the job and to school on time.
  • Must be willing to work overtime when required.
  • Must join the union and remit, within 60 days, the Apprenticeship Initiation Fee, which is $100, plus the first month’s dues (monthly union dues are currently $33 per month).

For further information, applicants should contact their nearest New York State Department of Labor office or Local Union #33 at (585) 288-2630.

Apprentice programs registered with the Department of Labor must meet standards established by the Commissioner. Under state law, sponsors of programs cannot discriminate against applicants because of race, creed, color, national origin, age, sex, disability, or marital status. Women and minorities are encouraged to submit applications for apprenticeship programs. Sponsors of programs are required to adopt affirmative action plans for the recruitment of women and minorities.

###

Get Adobe Reader