[X] close video player
This video requires Adobe Flash Player
New York State Department of Labor

Plumbers & Steamfitters Recruit Apprentices

play video alt txt

Rochester, NY (January 04, 2017) -

The Plumbing and Heating Joint Apprenticeship and Training Council, Local Union #13, will conduct a recruitment from February 2, 2016 through January 2, 2018 for 10 plumber apprentices and 10 steamfitter apprentices, the New York State Department of  Labor announced today.

Applications can be obtained and submitted, in person only, from Local Union #13, 1850 Mt. Read Blvd., Rochester, NY from 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and from 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. on the first Tuesday of each month, excluding legal holidays, during the recruitment period. In July, applications can be obtained and submitted on Wednesday, July 5th. Applications must be completed in person.

The Committee requires that applicants:

  • Must be at least 18 years old at the time of application.
  • Must pass a physical exam and drug test, at the expense of the sponsor, after selection and prior to indenture.
  • Must have a high school diploma with a final grade of “C’ or better in algebra and geometry, or a high school equivalency diploma (such as GED or TASC) with a minimum math score of 55.
  • Must pass a math exam, at the time of application, with a score of 70% or higher.
  • Must attest that they are physically able to do the work of a plumber or steamfitter, which includes:
    • Heavy lifting (in excess of 80 lbs. on occasion).
    • Working in confined spaces.
    • Climbing and working at various heights from ladders, lifts, and scaffolds.
    • Working indoors and outdoors, in industrial plants, institutions, commercial buildings, and power plants.
  • Must be legally able to work in the United States.
  • Must be a resident, of at least one year, within the jurisdiction of Local Union #13. This includes the counties of Allegany, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Orleans, Seneca, Steuben, Wayne, and Yates.
  • Must appear for an interview when scheduled.
  • Must have a valid driver’s license. Apprentices may be required to drive company vehicles.
  • Must have reliable transportation to and from various job sites and related instruction classes.
  • Must submit to random drug testing at any time during the school year.

Apprentices are required to reimburse the JATC for 50% of the book cost during each year of the apprenticeship. Approximate annual book costs are as follows: 1st year, $70-$100; 2nd and 3rd year, $70; 4th and 5th year, $35.

Proof of the following items must be presented at the time of application: minimum age of 18; high school diploma with transcript of grades including algebra and geometry, or high school equivalency diploma with a minimum math score of 55; transcripts from any other educational programs that are to be considered; current driver’s license; residence within the jurisdiction of Local Union #13; and military transfer card or discharge form DD-214, if applicable.

For further information, applicants should contact their nearest New York State Department of Labor office or Local Union #13 at (585) 338-2360.

Apprentice programs registered with the Department of Labor must meet standards established by the Commissioner. Under state law, sponsors of programs cannot discriminate against applicants because of race, creed, color, national origin, age, sex, disability, or marital status. Women and minorities are encouraged to submit applications for apprenticeship programs. Sponsors of programs are required to adopt affirmative action plans for the recruitment of women and minorities.

###

Get Adobe Reader