Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Certified Dental Assistant

Description

Only individuals who have met all the requirements for certification and have been issued a license to practice as a New York State licensed certified dental assistant may use the title "certified dental assistant".

Licensure Requirements

Requirements to become licensed as a New York State licensed certified dental assistant?

  • be at least 17 years of age;
  • submit an application, fee and all required documents;
  • meet education requirements; and
  • meet examination requirements.

The specific requirements for licensure are contained in Title 8, Article 133, Section 6608 of the New York's Education Law and Part 61 of the Commissioner's Regulations.

License fees:

The fee for licensure and first registration is $103.
The fee for a limited permit is $40.

Licenses Issued and Active

In 2018, there were 109 licenses issued for this occupation.
In 2019, there were 119 licenses issued for this occupation.
As of July 1, 2020 there were 1,502 active licenses for this occupation.

Licensing Authority

New York State Education Department
Office of the Professions
State Board for Dentistry
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12234
Phone: (518) 474-3817 Press 1 then Ext. 550
Fax: (518) 473-0567
Email: [email protected]

Standard Occupational Classification

31-9091 - Dental Assistants
To learn more about this occupation search the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).

Additional Information

American Dental Assistants Association
140 N. Bloomingdale Road
Bloomingdale, IL 60108-1017
Phone: (630) 994-4247
Fax: (630) 351-8490

Dental Assisting National Board
444 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 900
Chicago, Illinois 60611
Tollfree: (800) 367-3262

Disclaimer:

Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.

This page was last updated on 11/23/20.

Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.