A driving school instructor provides motor vehicle driver training through a New York State-licensed driving school in accordance with Section 394 of the Vehicle and Traffic Law and Part 76 of Department of Motor Vehicles Commissioner's Regulations.
An applicant must file an application for certification with the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles in order to become certified as a driving school instructor. Initial driving school instructor certifications expire on the last day of the month one year after issuance. Certification renewals are for a term of 2 years.
Note: an applicant must be endorsed by a licensed driving school wishing to employ the applicant. The driving school will file the application on his or her behalf.
Must be 21 years old to provide behind-the-wheel instruction to a permit holder of any age.
Candidate driving school instructors must have earned a high school diploma (HSD) or general educational development (GED) diploma. A 30-hour driving school instructor's course of study must be successfully completed within the first year of licensure.
Applicant must have at least 2 years of recent licensed driving experience in this state or in another state as evidenced by a certified abstract of driving record from such state.
$10 -- Non-refundable applicant fee
$10 -- per year
Applicant must pass a vision test, written test, road sign test and instructor road test specific to driving school instructors. Application fee allows applicant to take two written tests and one instructor road test. Failure of either of the two written tests or the instructor road test requires reapplication. The written test is based on driver experience, The New York State Driver's Manual and Section 394 of the Vehicle and Traffic Law and Part 76 of Commissioner Regulations. The licensed driving school may provide the study materials for the testing. Study materials are posted on DMV’s website at https://dmv.ny.gov/driver-training/become-driving-school-instructor
In 2017 there were 2,123 certificates issued for this application.
As of October 12th, 2018, there are 3,156 active certificates for this application.
New York State Department of Motor Vehicles
Bureau of Driver Training Programs
6 Empire State Plaza, Room 327
Albany, New York 12228
Phone: (518) 473-7174 (option 3)
Fax: (518) 473-0160
25-2031 - Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
To learn more about this occupation search the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).
Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.
This page was last updated on 11/7/18.
Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.