You must apply for a hearing aid dispensing registration if you are engaged in the dispensing of hearing aids. The General Business Law (Article 37-A, Section 789) defines a hearing aid dispenser as any person 21 years of age or older or an audiologist licensed under the Education Law (Article 159) who is engaged in the act of "fitting, selecting, renting, adapting, or servicing of hearing aids or any other instrument to compensate for impaired hearing." Explicitly included are testing and fitting procedures. Testing is only for purposes of fitting and is not an audiological or medical exam.
The latest information and requirements for becoming a New York State Hearing Aid Dispenser are available on the New York State Department of State website at: http://www.dos.ny.gov/licensing/hearingaid/hearingaid.html
$150 -- Initial Application
In 2017, there were 738 licenses issued for this occupation.
As of December 31, 2017, there were 1,409 active licenses for this occupation.
New York State Department of State
Division of Licensing Services
One Commerce Plaza
99 Washington Avenue
P.O. Box 22001
Albany, New York 12201-2001
Phone: (518) 474-4429
Fax: (518) 473-6648
E-mail: [email protected]
29-2092 - Hearing Aid Specialists
To learn more about this occupation search the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).
Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.
This page was last updated on 11/7/18.
Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.