A Certified Interior Designer (CID) licensed in New York plans, designs, supervises and/or consults on various aspects of interior spaces including:
To safeguard people and property, certified interior designers incorporate construction, fire, safety and accessibility codes and data into their design services.
A licensed New York CID has earned at least 7 years of education/experience credit and has passed a 12.5 hour national licensing examination. With the exception of those who applied for licensure prior to January 1, 1996, certified interior designers have at least a two year associate's degree from an interior design program registered by the State Education Department (or its equivalent) and have earned qualifying experience as interior designers.
The specific requirements for licensure are contained in Title 8, Article 161, Section 8305 of New York Education Law and Section 52.18 and Subpart 79-3 of the Commissioner's Regulations.
The licensure fee for Certified Interior Design is $377.
In 2018, there were 24 licenses issued for this occupation.
In 2019, there were 11 licenses issued for this occupation.
As of July 1, 2020 there are 266 active licenses for this occupation.
New York State Education Department
Education Building, 2nd Floor
Office of the Professions
State Board for Interior Design
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12234
Phone: (518) 474-3817 Press 1 then Ext. 140
Email: [email protected]
27-1025 - Interior Designers
To learn more about this occupation search the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).
National Council for Interior Design Qualification
225 Reinekers Lane, Suite 210
Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone: (202) 721-0220
Fax: (202) 721-0221
E-mail: [email protected]
Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.
This page was last updated on 12/21/20.
Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.