The practice of pharmacy refers to the preparation and dispensing of drugs as well as the counseling of patients in the proper use of these drugs.
Any use of the title "pharmacist" within New York State requires licensure.
To be licensed as a pharmacist in New York State you must:
- be of good moral character;
- be at least 21 years of age; and
- meet education, examination, and experience requirements.
The specific requirements for licensure are contained in Title 8, Article 137, Section 6805 of New York's Education Law and Part 63 of the Commissioner's Regulations.
To meet the professional education requirements for licensure as a pharmacist, you must have:
- Completed a program in pharmacy leading to a bachelor's degree or higher from a pharmacy program accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) .
- Graduated from a pharmacy program accredited by the Canadian Council for Accreditation of Pharmacy Programs (CCAPP):
- Completed a pharmacy program that is not accredited by ACPE or CCAPP, and:
- have completed a program in pharmacy leading to a degree, diploma or certificate in pharmacy (at the level of a bachelor's degree or its equivalent) recognized by the appropriate civil authorities of the jurisdiction in which the school is located as meeting the education requirements for entry into practice in that jurisdiction.
- Have Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee (FPGEC) certification by the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP).
For information regarding FPGEC certification, contact:
National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP)
1600 Feehanville Drive
Mt Prospect, IL 60056
- The New York State Education Department must determine that the non-accredited pharmacy program meets the following preprofessional and professional study requirements:
- Preprofessional Study
- Professional Study
You must pass all three parts of the pharmacist licensing exam series within 5 years:
- Part I: North American Pharmacist Licensing Exam (NAPLEX)
- Part II: Multi-State Pharmacy Jurisprudence Exam (MPJE) [Study Guide]
- Part III: Written and Practical (Compounding) [Part III Blueprint]
OR, on or after September 1, 2009, obtain Certification of Completion of Pharmacy Practice Residency Competencies
Fees (as of November 2, 2016)
The fee for licensure is $339.
The fee for a limited (intern) permit is $70.
Licenses Issued and Active:
In 2014, there were 1,185 licenses issued for this occupation.
In 2015, there were 1,259 licenses issued for this occupation.
As of July 1, 2016, there were 25,933 active licenses for this occupation.
New York State Education Department
Division of Professional Licensing Services
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12234
Phone: (518) 474-3817 Ext. 250
Fax: (518) 402-5354
Standard Occupational Classification:
29-1051 - Pharmacists
To learn more about this occupation search the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).
American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy
1727 King Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone: (703) 739-2330
Fax: (703) 836-8982
Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.
This page was last updated on 12/19/16.
Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.