A speech-language pathologist is a licensed health care professional who diagnoses, evaluates, and treats disorders of speech, voice, swallowing, and/or language.
A New York speech-language pathologist has completed a minimum of a Master’s degree in speech-language pathology. This includes courses in basic communication processes, audiology, scientific areas of speech-language pathology and language, as well as a supervised practice of at least 300 hours. In addition, New York licensed speech-language pathologists have satisfactorily completed at least nine months of paid supervised experience and passed a written, State-approved licensing examination.
Licensed speech-language pathologists are also required by law to complete 30 hours of continuing competency learning activities every three years.
The fee for licensure and first registration is $294.
In 2018, there were 1,013 licenses issued for this occupation.
In 2019, there were 1,032 licenses issued for this occupation.
In 2020, there were 883 licenses issued for this occupation.
As of January 1, 2021, there were 18,453 active licenses for this occupation.
New York State Education Department
Office of the Professions
State Board for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12234-1000
Phone: 518-474-3817, Press 1 then ext. 100
E-mail: [email protected]
29-1127 - Speech-Language Pathologists
To learn more about this occupation search the Occupational Information Network (O*Net).
Fees stated and other information contained in this report are subject to change. Please contact the licensing authority listed above for the most current information.
This page was last updated on 2/9/21.
Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.