Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Department of Labor

Farm Labor

The Farm Laborers Fair Labor Practices Act went into effect on January 1, 2020. For information on how this will impact agricultural businesses and farm laborers, please visit or call 833-NY-FARMS.

The New York State minimum wage increased on December 31, 2019. In New York City, it is now $15.00 per hour for all size businesses. In Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties, it is $13.00 per hour. In the remainder of the state, it is $11.80 per hour. There are different hourly rates for workers in the fast food industry and those who receive tips. These rates remain in effect until December 30, 2020. If you have questions, please review our minimum wage information page. If you need additional assistance or want to file a complaint, please call: 1-888-4-NYSDOL (1-888-469-7365).

Minimum Wage Increase

See the updated posters, summary rate sheets and FAQs. Check back frequently for other updates as the increases take effect.

The Division of Labor Standards enforces minimum wage standards for farm workers. After a review of the application provided, we issue a certificate of registration to migrant farm labor contractors, growers and food processors that bring migrant farm labor into the State. We enforce compliance with the conditions set forth in the registration. We also issue permits to labor camp commissaries.

Search Farm Program Registrants

Minimum Wage Standards for Farm Workers

The Minimum Wage Order for Farm Workers applies only to farm workers employed on farms where the total cash remuneration paid all persons employed on the farm exceeded $3,000 in the previous calendar year.

The Minimum Wage Order for Farm Workers provides that all workers, with certain exceptions, receive the Minimum Wage as indicated in the General Minimum Wage Rate Schedule. This does not include:

  • Members of the employer's immediate family

As of January 1, 2020, farm workers:

  • Are to be allowed at least 24 consecutive hours of rest in each calendar week
  • Are entitled to overtime pay at 1 ½ times their regular rate of pay for any hours worked over 60 in a calendar week. This overtime pay also pertains to any hours worked on their designated day of rest.

Read more about the Farm Laborers Fair Labor Practices Act.

The wage order permits employers to deduct specified allowances from the minimum wage for:

  • Meals
  • Lodging (except for seasonal migrant workers)

Payments in kind must cost no more than the farm market value.

Employers must post these items in a conspicuous place in their establishment:

  • A summary of the wage order
  • A copy of the general work agreement

Farm Labor Forms

  • Grower or Processor Certificate of Registration (LS 113) - Needed for Grower or Processor that:
    • Employs five or more out-of-state migrants
    • Even if they do not use the services of a Farm Labor Contractor
  • Farm Labor Contractor Certificate of Registration (LS 113.1) - Required for any:
    • Individual
    • Firm
    • Partnership
    • Cooperative
    • Association
    • Corporation
    That charges a fee to:
    • Recruit
    • Transport
    • Supply
    • Hire
    • Supervise farm or food processing workers on behalf of a third party
    The Grower or Processor that uses the contractor's services must countersign the application for the Certificate of Registration.
  • Farm Labor Camp Commissaries Permit (LS 113.1) - Any person who operates a Farm Labor Camp Commissary must first get a permit before starting operation.
  • Visit the Farm Labor Contractor page to download the Farm Labor Contractor Manual. Also, you will find a helpful presentation in English and Spanish.

Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.