The New York State minimum wage increased on December 31, 2016. In New York City, it is $10.50 per hour for businesses with 10 or fewer employees, and $11.00 per hour for businesses with 11 or more employees. In Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester counties, it is $10.00 per hour. In the remainder of the state, it is $9.70 per hour. There are different hourly rates for workers in the fast food industry and those who receive tips. These rates remain in effect until December 30, 2017. If you have questions, please review our minimum wage information page. If you need additional assistance or want to file a complaint, please call: 1-888-4-NYSDOL (1-888-469-7365).
The Labor Standards Division has a staff of investigators who enforce the New York State Minimum Wage Act. This includes four minimum wage orders and the Minimum Wage Standards for Farm Workers. These laws, with specified exceptions, apply to all workers in New York State. They also cover people who are subject to the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act.
Please read all of the information at the top of this page pertaining to the upcoming minimum wage increase!
The New York State minimum wage is $9.70 per hour as of December 31, 2016.
Employers must display a Minimum Wage information poster where workers can see it.
View or print the Minimum Wage Posters, Wage Orders and Wage Summaries. You will find the links to the Posters at the top of the page. Please scroll down to find the links to the Wage Orders and Summaries.
The Department of Labor helps collect wages owed to workers who have not received the minimum wage, once they file a claim with us. Labor Standards investigates and endeavors to collect on these claims for:
We also enforce the rules that forbid employers from:
Labor Standards investigates and endeavors to collect claims for any unpaid benefits or wage supplements that the employer has agreed to provide. An employer is guilty of a misdemeanor if he or she fails to provide employees the benefits and wage supplements that were agreed upon.
Wage supplements include:
Every employer is required to notify employees in writing or by publicly posting the employer's policy on sick leave, vacation, personal leave, holidays and hours of work.
Fill out the LS 223 to claim unpaid wages if your employer...
Fill out the LS 425 to claim unpaid wage supplements if your employer promised you (verbally or in writing) and didn't pay you...
Do not fill out the LS 223 or LS 425 to file a claim because you are not covered if ...
Submit completed claim forms to:NYS DOL
Labor Standards enforces the rights of Nursing Mothers in the Workplace where they apply.
Labor Standards enforces Minimum Wage standards for Farm Workers.
We review the applications of entities that bring migrant farm labor into the state:
We issue certificates of registration to those who qualify.
We enforce compliance with the conditions set forth in the registration and also issues permits to labor camp commissaries.
We enforce the restrictions on industrial homework set forth in the Industrial Homework Law and the Homework Orders.
We issue licenses to qualified applicants to operate employment agencies outside New York City. We enforce the laws and regulations that relate to their operation and the fees they may charge.
Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.