Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Mold Program: Compliance

The Mold Program establishes new minimum work standards for mold assessments and remediation activities by licensed professionals, including:

  • Protection against fraud by prohibiting the performance of both the assessment and remediation on the same property by the same individual;
  • Protection against fraud by requiring an independent mold assessment to define the scope of the remediation work;
  • Identification of disinfectant products, consistent with U.S. Environmental Protection Agency standards;
  • Provision of personal protection equipment to employees, as necessary;
  • Posted notice of the project and the contractor's licenses; and
  • Completion of a post-remediation assessment.

The Department of Labor enforces these work standards as well as mold-related licensing requirements.

Consumers may file a complaint regarding these standards by following these steps:

  1. Complete the Mold Contractor Complaint Form. The information you report on this form will be used to investigate violations of Article 32 of the New York State Labor Law. Please type or write legibly. Please provide as much information as possible on this form and include all relevant documents.
  2. Email the completed form along with any attachment(s) to [email protected] or mail the completed form to the address of your local district office listed below.
A representative from the Department will contact you if additional information is needed.

Licensed Mold Assessor and Mold Remediator Contractors

You can search for licensed mold assessor and mold remediator contractors by using the Department's Licensed Mold Contractors Search Tool.

Albany District:

Counties: Albany, Clinton, Columbia, Dutchess, Essex, Fulton, Green, Montgomery, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Sullivan, Ulster, Warren, Washington

State Office Campus, Room 166, Albany, NY 12240
(518) 457-2072 (office)
(518 485-8054 (fax)

Buffalo District:

Counties: Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie,Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Niagara, Ontario, Orleans, Wayne, Wyoming, Yates

65 Court Street, Room 405, Buffalo, NY 14202
(716) 847-7126 (office)
(716) 847-7138 (fax)

New York City District:

Counties: Bronx, Kings, Nassau, New York, Queens. Richmond, Suffolk, Westchester

One Hudson Square, 75 Varick Street (7th Floor), New York, NY 10013
(212)775-3532 (office)
(212) 775-3535 (fax)

Syracuse District:

Counties: Broome, Cayuga, Chemung, Chenengo, Cortland, Delaware, Franklin, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Madison, Oneida, Onondaga, Oswego, Otsego, St. Lawrence, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins

450 S. Salina Street, Syracuse, NY 13202
(315) 479-3215 (office)
(315) 479-3333 (fax)

Thanks for the feedback! It will help us improve your experience.